We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Nick Waterhouse - Nick Waterhouse Vinyl LP - direct audio

Nick Waterhouse - Nick Waterhouse Vinyl LP

Innovative Leisure Records

  • $ 2498

Nick Waterhouse Nick Waterhouse Vinyl LP

Nick Waterhouse's eponymous fourth album was recorded at the finest working studio in Los Angeles, Electro Vox Recorders, and co-produced by Paul Butler (The Bees, Michael Kiwanuka, Devendra Banhart), the master of all things warm, rich and wooly. Nick's songs here are personal, but personal in the way that "Please Mr. Postman," "What's Going On" and "Cathy's Clown" are – intimate, direct, yet still malleable enough for listeners to suffuse their own life stories into the mix. The album is thick with talented players, including Andres Rentaria, Paula Henderson and the staggering, howling saxophone of Mando Dorame.

All of the new Waterhouse songs sound big. Brawny and muscular. The lyrics are suspicious, outraged and, at times, very vulnerable (muscle is just flesh, after all). Waterhouse uses an economy of words to deliver complex, coded messages. He offers up equal parts criticism of the time we live in and innate human flaws. He paints relationships under the cover of darkness, slashing through neo-noir fantasies that are romantic, blood-spattered and bracingly aware of the powerlessness felt among people, amid the rapid onslaught of commercialism and technological progress.

And, as has become his signature, he throws in a tune written by a close friend. On this record, he covers "I Feel an Urge Coming On" in tribute to the song's author, Nick's own mentor and collaborator Joshie Jo Armstead, who wrote music with Ray Charles and sang as both an Ikette and Raelette in the '60s and '70s.

Nick Waterhouse Nick Waterhouse Track Listing:

1. By Heart
2. Song For Winners
3. I Feel An Urge Coming On
4. Undedicated
5. Black Glass
6. Wreck The Rod
7. Which Was Writ
8. Man Leaves Town
9. Thoughts & Act
10. El Viv
11. Wherever She Goes (She Is Wanted)

We Also Recommend