Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Nik Bartsch's Mobile - Continuum 180g Vinyl 2LP + Download - direct audio

Nik Bartsch's Mobile - Continuum 180g Vinyl 2LP + Download

ECM Records

  • $ 3598

Nik Bartsch's Mobile Continuum 180g Vinyl 2LP + Download

Swiss pianist and composer Nik Bärtsch was born in 1971 in Zurich, where he still lives. He took piano and percussion lessons from the age of 8 and subsequently studied at the city's Musikhochschule and university, simultaneously freelancing in diverse bands, "playing everything from fusion to free-funk, and all kinds of extroverted jazz."

As Bärtsch's interest in composition grew and he immersed himself in the practices of John Cage and Morton Feldman, his attraction to live jazz waned: "I just didn't see the sense of it any more, for me as an instrumentalist." In 1997 he created an acoustic group, Mobile, which "develops integral musical concepts within a musical framework." Continuum, with an "extended" version of the Mobile ensemble is scheduled for Spring 2016 release on ECM.

Mobile is effectively the wellspring of Bärtsch's ritualistic approach to music making, nourished by his concepts of reduction and repetition as well as his fascination with Japanese culture. Here textures from jazz, funk, new music (minimal as well as ritual) and sacred music are organically interwoven.

Nik Bartsch's Mobile Continuum Track Listing:


1. Modul 29_14
2. Modul 12
3. Modul 18
4. Modul 5


1. Modul 60
2. Modul 4
3. Modul 44
4. Modul 8_11

We Also Recommend