We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Nilufer Yanya - Miss Universe Colored Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Nilufer Yanya - Miss Universe Colored Vinyl 2LP

ATO Records

  • $ 2598

Nilufer Yanya Miss Universe Colored Vinyl 2LP

Nilüfer Yanya, London's 23 year-old "effortlessly smooth new soul star" (The Fader) releases her hotly-anticipated full length debut, Miss Universe. The 17-track, 2LP collection was largely recorded in the same remote Penzance studio she used to jam in with her uncle Joe – a former musician himself – and features co-productions with both her former school guitar teacher The Invisible's

Dave Okumu and her live bandmates Jazzi Bobbi and Luke Bower, as well as producers John Congleton, Oli Barton-Wood, Will Archer and M.T. Hadley. Uniquely blending elements of soul and jazz into intimate pop songs with electronic flourishes and a newly expressed grungy guitar sound, Miss Universe is bigger and more ambitious than anything she's done before.

"Angels," with its muted, harmonic riffs, channels ideas "of paranoid thoughts and anxiety" – a theme that runs through the album, not least in its conceptual spoken word interludes which emanate from a fictional health management company "WWAY Health." "You sign up, and you pay a fee," explains Nilüfer of the automated messages, which are littered through the album and are narrated by the titular Miss Universe. "They sort out all of your dietary requirements, and then they move onto medication, and then maybe you can get a better organ or something...and then suddenly it starts to get a bit weird. You're giving them more of you and to what end?"

Nilufer Yanya Miss Universe Track Listing:

1. WWAY Health
2. In Your Head
3. Paralysed
4. Angels
5. Experience?
6. Paradise
7. Baby Blu
8. Warning
9. Heat Rises
10. Melt
11. "Sparkle" God Help Me
12. Monsters Under The Bed
13. Safety Net
14. Tears
15. The Unordained
16. Give Up Function
17. Heavyweight Champion of the Year

We Also Recommend