We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Nubya Garcia - Source Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Nubya Garcia - Source Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Concord Records

  • $ 2998

Nubya Garcia Source Vinyl 2LP

Award-winning saxophonist/composer Nubya Garcia presents her much anticipated debut album, Source on the iconic Concord Jazz imprint. Self-produced in collaboration with celebrated producer Kwes (Bobby Womack, Solange), it's a collection of sonic mantras, a deeply personal blend of identity, family history, grief; reconnecting with herself, her roots, her community. An erudite blend of broken beat, soul, dub-step Afro-diasporic sounds - all whilst never losing her deep jazz foundation.

Opener and single "Pace" mimics the hustle and hyper-productivity of modern life, a mode of living that, Garcia reflects, can leave us; "very isolated and disconnected from ourselves and each other." Contrasting moments of calm act as an antidote, "like sweeping your hands for stillness before you go back out again, on whatever journey you're on," and overall Garcia seeks to inspire listeners to "think on what makes each of us joyful, what things we personally reach towards to feel grounded." Garcia digs deep to present an album with a global outlook: from London to Bogota, Caura to Georgetown, it's a record drawing inspiration from the many places she calls home.

Nubya Garcia Source Track Listing:

1. Pace
2. The Message Continues
3. Source
4. Together Is A Beautiful Place To Be
5. Stand With Each Other
6. Inner Game
7. La cumbia me está llamando
8. Before Us: In Demerara & Caura
9. Boundless Beings

We Also Recommend