Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Otis Clay - I Can't Take It Vinyl LP + MP3 Download - direct audio

Otis Clay - I Can't Take It Vinyl LP + MP3 Download

Fat Possum Records

  • $ 1698

Otis Clay I Can't Take It Vinyl LP + MP3 Download

Otis Clay made most of his best-known records in Memphis during the early-'70s, but he's still universally hailed as Chicago's deep soul king. In a city filled with overflowing legendary blues artists, Clay has become the proud standard-bearer for Chicago's enduring soul tradition. Like so many of his contemporaries, Clay's intense vocal style reflects a gospel background. He made the secular jump in 1985, signing with Chicago's One-derful Records and issuing a series of gosepl-tinged soul records that were a lot grittier than the customary Windy City soul sound.

Clay inaugerated Atlantic's Cotillion subsidiary in 1968 with a supercharged cover of the Sir Douglas Quintet's "She's About a Mover," produced by Rick Hall in Muscle Shoals shortly before the singer joined forces with Hi Records boss Willie Mitchell. With the relentlessly driving Hi Rhythm Section in tow, Clay waxed his biggest seller in 1972, "Trying To Live My Life Without You," later covered very successfully by Bob Seger.

I Can't Take It was Clay's second and final recording for the Hi label, issued five years after his 1972 debut Trying To Live My Life Without You. In addition to a reprise of "Home Is Where The Heart Is" and "Slow And Easy," the album is comprised of leftover material from those initial 1972 sessions including album highlights "Pussy Footing Around" and "House Ain't A Home (Without A Woman)."

Otis Clay I Can't Take It Track Listing:

1. Pussy Footing Around
2. Too Much Mystery
3. I Can't Take It
4. Home Is Where The Heart Is
5. I've Got To Find A Way (To Get You Back)
6. Slow and Easy
7. House Ain't A Home (Without A Woman)
8. Keep On Loving Me
9. Born To Be With You

We Also Recommend