We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Overkill - The Wings of War Colored Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Overkill - The Wings of War Colored Vinyl 2LP

Nuclear Blast Records

  • $ 3298

Overkill The Wings of War Colored Vinyl 2LP

It's with over 30 years under their leather belts that New Jersey natives Overkill unveil their latest offering, The Wings Of War. With 10 tracks clocking in at fifty one minutes, their nineteenth full length slab is the ultimate combination of sickening brutality and addictive melody. It was yet another incredible album cover design by Travis Smith that sparked the idea of what to name this next album. With five of the iconic Overkill winged skulls brooding powerfully around the table seemingly prepared for battle, The Wings Of War simply rolled off the tongue.

Album opener "Last Man Standing" is Overkill kicking the door in with a hard and loud tune that's rooted in some of the best angst that thrash possesses. Memories retained from this song are memories similar to the classic 80's vibe but with a new-age mechanical feel that thoroughly updates it. This was also the first song recorded with newcomer Jason Bittner. The album's second single "Head Of A Pin" is a lyrical journey about disappointment and trust. Musically, the song comes across as "Black Sabbath on meth" proclaims frontman Bobby Blitz. It intertwines riffs and vocal melodies that pick it up into a real pounder and create something truly special.

The Wings Of War also holds something to look forward to for east coast metal heads with a track entitled "Welcome To The Garden State." The song sums up the New Jersey attitude with over 4 minutes of thrashy, punky, honest vibration, and truly defines Overkill, in the process.

Overkill The Wings of War Track Listing:

1. Last Man Standing
2. Believe in the Fight
3. Head of a Pin
4. Batshitcrazy
5. Distortion
6. A Mother's Prayer
7. Welcome to the Garden State
8. Where Few Dare to Walk
9. Out on the Road-Kill
10. Hole in My Soul

We Also Recommend