Cart 0
Palace Songs - Bonnie Prince Billy - Hope EP on 12" Vinyl - direct audio

Palace Songs - Bonnie Prince Billy - Hope EP on 12" Vinyl

Drag City Records

  • $ 1298

Palace Songs Hope EP on 12" Vinyl

1994 EP from Will Oldham aka Bonnie Prince Billy

The mini 1994 album Hope was another change in sound for Will Oldham, and featured arrangements by Sean O Hagan, then of the High Llamas. Featuring six songs including a cover of Leonard Cohen's "Winter Lady," Oldham's voice is set in a reflective and soft-hued sound throughout. The use of piano as a lead instrument suggests a parlour-song atmosphere, something which is enhanced by Oldham's frequent repetition of lines in the lyrics, which also expand on his own brand of surrealism. On "Untitled" Oldham sings "Did you like the cake? some of it was nice" as though the importance of the cake is of a more far-reaching consequence than the cake and anyone who may be eating it realizes.

Palace Songs Hope EP Track Listing:

1. Agnes, Queen of Sorrow
2. Untitled
3. Winter Lady
4. Christmastime in the Mountains
5. All Gone, All Gone
6. Werner's Last Blues to Blockbuster

We Also Recommend