Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Parlor Walls - Opposites Vinyl LP - direct audio

Parlor Walls - Opposites Vinyl LP

Northern Spy Records

  • $ 1898

Parlor Walls Opposites Vinyl LP

Parlor Walls' debut album Opposites is appropriately named. The trio of Alyse Lamb (guitar, vocals), Kate Mohanty (saxophone), and Chris Mulligan (drums, synth) channel a sound that plays with extremes. At times heavy and playful, vulnerable and strong, dark and humorous, exacting and unhinged, it recalls the everyday taming we all do to harness our wild parts, and invites us to let them be. The band explores how far they can push the listener in one direction, while still holding the opposite qualities intact. How much dissonance and melody can exist at once? Can a rhythm be fun yet challenging?

From the opening track "Crime Engine Failure," we get the unsettling feeling of gears churning. A relentless drumbeat refuses to evolve as the vocals begin the song in an all-together different timing. This push and pull is where the band thrives. Unsure where the anchor is, they perform a balancing act. Second track "Cover Me" whips in like a charging bull and settles on a groove-laden bass, only to dive into chaos with Mohanty's box-cutter tone and Lamb's pleading, urgent vocals. In "Play Opposites," she begs the question, "Is this what you wanted Mother? Empty shells to fill your hole?" as the music slowly unravels into a wash of noise. On songs "Love Again" and "Hesitation," the trio walks the fine line between pure pleasure and madness, encouraging you to thrive in between the two.

It would be best to listen to Opposites in a giant cavern around a fire surrounded by your tribe for one last dance before you head out to fight the revolution. Walking a tightrope between genres, you could take this to be true: It rocks, it drops, it grooves, it melts, it rolls, and like most forces of nature and spirit it's wisest to relax and maneuver with the current rather than wondering why.

Parlor Walls Opposites Track Listing:

1. Crime Engine Failure
2. Cover Me
3. Play Opposites
4. Ambassadress
5. Love Again
6. Teach Me Where To Roam
7. Hesitation
8. Me Me My
9. Birthday
10. Carstairs
11. Red Shed

We Also Recommend