Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Pete Townshend - Who Came First 150g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Pete Townshend - Who Came First 150g Vinyl LP

Classic Records Eelpie

  • $ 1998

Pete Townshend Who Came First 150g Vinyl LP

This 1972 release was Pete Townshend's first solo effort outside of The Who. The album is a collection of music dedicated to Meher Baba, Townshend's spiritual master and follows on from the private pressings of Happy Birthday, another devotional album which Pete put together to celebrate the first anniversary of the passing of Baba and its follow up I Am. Who Came First came about because of the bootlegging of these albums and Decca in the States pushing for an official release.

In response Townshend decided to release a new album, with Decca promising $1 of every sale going towards Baba projects. The resultant collection exposes Townshend's spiritual enlightenment and sees him perform with fellow Baba followers, including Ronnie Lane and Billy Nicholls. Who Came First includes Townshend's versions of Who Classics "Let's See Action" and the sublime opener "Pure and Easy" as well as cover versions of songs which were Baba favorites. The album closes with the epic "Parvadigar," a rendition of Meher Baba's Universal Prayer, set to music.

Pete Townshend Who Came First Track Listing:

1. Pure and Easy
2. Evolution
3. Forever's No Time At All
4. Let's See Action
5. Time Is Passing
6. There's A Heartache Following Me
7. Sheraton Gibson
8. Content
9. Parvardigar

We Also Recommend