Cart 0
Pete Yorn And Scarlett Johansson - Break Up Vinyl LP - direct audio

Pete Yorn And Scarlett Johansson - Break Up Vinyl LP

Rhino Records

  • $ 1899

Pete Yorn And Scarlett Johansson Break Up on Vinyl LP

A truly one-of-a-kind album, Break Up brings together critically acclaimed singer/songwriter Pete Yorn and the multi-talented Scarlett Johansson. In this deeply emotive yet hook-filled song cycle, Yorn and Johansson reenact the tempestuous course of a love affair on the rocks in captivating detail.

Predating Johansson’s debut album, Anywhere I Lay My Head, by nearly two years; Break Up was conceived and recorded in 2006, in producer Sunny Levine’s garage studio. “I always thought of it as just a small project between friends,” explains Johansson. “I’ve loved the album ever since I heard it completed. It perfectly captured where I was in my life at the time.” Yorn was protective of Break Up initially, playing it for no one until last year. When those close to him finally heard the album, the overwhelming response convinced Yorn that it was simply too strong a work to remain under lock and key.

Break Up includes eight original compositions by Yorn, ranging in tone from the lilting opener "Relator" to the disarming, retro/futuristic "I Don't Know What To Do" to the climactic "Someday." Completing the collection is a powerful interpretation of the art-rock classic "I Am The Cosmos" by the late Chris Bell, co-founder of quintessential cult band Big Star.

Produced by Levine, with Yorn and Max Goldblatt as executive producers, the album features contributions from guitarist Robert Francis; bassist Giuseppe Patane; and violinist Amir Yaghmai, with Goldblatt on banjo, synth bass and backing vocals, and Levine handling programming and mixing.

Pete Yorn & Scarlett Johansson Break Up Track Listing

1. Relator
2. Wear And Tear
3. I Don't Know What To Do
4. Search Your Heart
5. Blackie's Dead
6. I Am The Cosmos
7. Shampoo
8. Clean
9. Someday

We Also Recommend