Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Peter Wolf - A Cure For Loneliness Vinyl LP - direct audio

Peter Wolf - A Cure For Loneliness Vinyl LP

Concord Records

  • $ 2199

Peter Wolf A Cure For Loneliness Vinyl LP

Legendary Rocker and J. Geils Band Frontman Returns with 8th Solo Recording!

In a musical career spanning half a century, Peter Wolf has earned a reputation as one of rock 'n' roll's most compelling performers, while consistently making distinctive, personally charged music that demonstrates his mastery of a bottomless well of American musical styles. Wolf continues his musical journey with A Cure for Loneliness, his eighth solo release and his April 2016 Concord debut. The 12-song album is another adventurous and accomplished work, showcasing his irrepressible charisma while encompassing his effortless affinity for country, blues, R&B and rock 'n' roll.

A Cure for Loneliness includes nine new Wolf originals, four of them co-written with Grammy/Academy Award-winning songwriter Will Jennings. The material ranges from the loose-limbed gospel boogie of "How Do You" to the rousing rock of "Wasting Time" to the acoustic reverie of "Some Other Time, Some Other Place" to the swinging big-band swagger of "Mr. Mistake" to the introspective balladry of "Peace of Mind" and "Fun For A While." Other highlights are an audacious bluegrass reworking of the classic J. Geils anthem "Love Stinks," and the stirring soul ballad "It's Raining," which Wolf co-wrote with R&B pioneer Don Covay. Wolf had originally intended to record the song as a duet with soul legend Bobby Womack, but received the news of Womack's death while he was working on the song's instrumental track.

A Cure for Loneliness also features a trio of obscure covers that reflects Wolf's wide-ranging musical interests: the honky-tonk lament "It Was Always So Easy (To Find An Unhappy Woman)," the country heartbreaker "Stranger," and the haunting 50's ballad "Tragedy." A Cure for Loneliness' thematic centerpiece is its opening track "Rolling On," a spare yet insistent statement of purpose that underlines Wolf's stature as a world-class rock 'n' roll survivor. "It's a song about getting through life and trying to prevail, and that's what the whole record is about," Wolf states. "It's basically saying 'I'm still here.' Change is constant, but it's not necessarily negative, so you just have to keep rolling on."

Wolf recorded A Cure for Loneliness with a prestigious group of musicians that includes several longtime collaborators such as, keyboardist Kenny White, who co-produced the album with Wolf, and the members of his touring band, the Midnight Travelers: guitarists Duke Levine and Kevin Barry, bassist Marty Ballou, drummers Tom Arey and Shawn Pelton. A Cure for Loneliness achieves an expansive flow by combining studio recordings along with several live performances that capture the humor and spontaneity for which Wolf is renowned.

"Performing in front of an audience is one of the things I enjoy most, and it's a different energy from the energy that comes out in the studio. So mixing studio and live tracks is like using different lighting for different scenes in a film," he adds. "I see this album as a continuation of a body of work that I've been creating for a long, long time. Each album is a challenge and every one of them has been a learning experience. I think that they've become more personal and revealing as I've continued. I still feel the way I felt when I started out decades ago, I'm just trying to prevail and continue to grow as an artist...and to keep rolling on with music as a cure for loneliness."

Peter Wolf A Cure For Loneliness Track Listing:

1. Rolling On
2. It Was Always So Easy (To Find An Unhappy Woman)
3. Peace Of Mind
4. How Do You Know,
5. Fun For Awhile
6. Wastin' Time
7. Some Other Time, Some Other Place
8. It's Raining
9. Love Stinks [Live]
10. Mr. Mistake
11. Tragedy
12. Stranger

We Also Recommend