Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Pink Floyd - A Saucerful Of Secrets 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Pink Floyd - A Saucerful Of Secrets 180g Vinyl LP

Columbia Records

  • $ 2798

Pink Floyd A Saucerful Of Secrets 180g Vinyl LP

Mastered by James Guthrie, Joel Plante & Bernie Grundman

For the first time in over two decades, Pink Floyd Records will begin the reintroduction of the Pink Floyd catalog on vinyl. The first four records to be released in June 2016 include: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, A Saucerful of Secrets, the soundtrack from the film More and the 2LP-set Ummagumma. Pink Floyd Records will reproduce the vinyl catalog throughout the year with release dates being announced at regular intervals. Special care has been taken to replicate the original packaging. The first set of releases, mastered by James Guthrie, Joel Plante and Bernie Grundman will be pressed on 180-gram vinyl for optimum sound quality.

Pink Floyd featuring Syd Barrett, Roger Waters, Rick Wright and Nick Mason first broke onto the music scene in 1967, with the hit single "Arnold Layne." Despite the departure of Syd Barrett, the group, which now included David Gilmour, recorded some of the most innovative and ground breaking records of their era, culminating in 1973 with one of the biggest selling albums of all time, The Dark Side Of The Moon. There followed numerous global number 1 albums, including The Wall, Animals, Wish You Were Here, The Final Cut and 2014's finale, The Endless River.

Following the release of their whimsical 1967 debut The Piper At The Gates of Dawn, Barrett's behavior and output were threatening to bring the band down with him: refusing to speak, playing one de-tuned string all night, writing material like "Scream Thy Last Scream, Old Woman with a Basket." The band wanted to keep their frontman and hoped he would recover himself, so they asked David Gilmour to take over Syd's role on stage, and thought Barrett might become their off-stage songwriter. They tried a few gigs as a five-piece. But in the end, they decided they could do without Barrett, and by March 1968 were in their second incarnation and under new management.

In a state of some consternation Pink Floyd finished their second album and first with Gilmour, A Saucerful of Secrets in 1968. Lyrical duties had now fallen to bassist Roger Waters. And apart from "Jugband Blues" — a disturbing track by Barrett, who contributed little else — the album's standout moments included the title track and Waters' "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun." This hypnotic epic signposted the style the band would expand on in the '70s, its vision at first more appreciated by an 'intellectual' and European audience.

Pink Floyd A Saucerful Of Secrets Track Listing:

1. Let There Be More Light
2. Remember a Day
3. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
4. Corporal Clegg
5. A Saucerful of Secrets
6. See-Saw
7. Jugband Blues

We Also Recommend