Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Primal Scream - Riot City Blues 180g Import Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Primal Scream - Riot City Blues 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Music on Vinyl Records

  • $ 3298

Primal Scream Riot City Blues 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Originally issued in 2006, Riot City Blues is the eight studio album from groundbreaking Scottish rock band Primal Scream and first since 2002's Evil Heat. The classic 10-song set was recorded over the course of 10 intense days of non-stop music-making in June 2005 live on the floor of London's Olympic Studios by Bobby Gillespie (vocals), Andrew Innes (guitars, banjo and mandolin), Martin Duffy (piano, harmonium, Hammond B-3 organ and harmonica), Gary "Mani" Mounfield (bass) and Robert Young (guitars and harmonica).

The band's scorching sounds were augmented by Will Sergeant (Echo & the Bunnymen) playing lead guitar on "When The Bomb Drops," Warren Ellis (Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds) playing fiddle on "Hell's Comin' Down," and Alison Mosshart (The Kills) on backing vocals on several cuts. The sessions for Riot City Blues were produced by Martin "Youth" Glover (Killing Joke, Crowded House, The Verve) with two tracks - "We're Gonna Boogie" and "Hell's Comin' Down" - produced by Primal Scream's own Andrew Innes.

After finishing the raw sessions in London, Primal Scream took the tracks to Los Angeles where, in another 10 day rush of creativity, the album was mixed by David Sardy at Village Recorders. Tracks on Riot City Blues include the raucous first single, "Country Girl," "Nitty Gritty," "Suicide Sally & Johnny Guitar," "When The Bomb Drops," "Little Death," "The 99th Floor," "We're Gonna Boogie," "Dolls (Sweet Rock and Roll)," "Hell's Comin' Down," and "Sometimes I Feel So Lonely."

Formed in 1984 by Jesus & Mary Chain drummer Bobby Gillespie, Primal Scream released a pair of albums - Sonic Flower Groove (1987) and Primal Scream (1989) - before the group's landmark opus Screamadelica took home the first-ever Mercury Music Prize in 1991 and profoundly shaped the UK's pop musical landscape for more than a decade with its hallucinatory blend of dance, dub, techno, acid house and rock.

Primal Scream Riot City Blues Track Listing:


1. Country Girl
2. Nitty Gritty
3. Suicide Sally & Johnny Guitar
4. When The Bomb Drops
5. Little Death


1. The 99th Floor
2. We're Gonna Boogie
3. Dolls (Sweet Rock And Roll)
4. Hell's Comin' Down
5. Sometimes I Feel So Lonely

We Also Recommend