We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Public Image LTD. -  First Issue 180g Vinyl LP + Download Card - direct audio

Public Image LTD. - First Issue 180g Vinyl LP + Download Card

Light In The Attic Records

  • $ 1998

Public Image LTD. First Issue 180g Vinyl LP + Download Card

Reproduced from the Original UK 1978 Release & Expanded w/ a Poster, Tabloid Adverts, Stickers & Download Card w/ the Full Album and Bonus Material

Approved & Coordinated with John Lydon and His Personal Management!

Marking Light In The Attic's 100th release and following the reissue of PiL’s debut single "Public Image," the label is set to reissue the pioneering group’s debut album First Issue, available for the first time ever in the US!

In 1976 Johnny Rotten and the Sex Pistols set the agenda for punk’s year zero with "Anarchy In The UK," a song that summed up the spirit, sound and attitude of the band in one shocking package. Two years later, the Sex Pistols were in tatters, but Rotten was as unsentimental as you’d hope. He reverted to his real name – John Lydon – and set about forming a band whose very identity kicked against press and media manipulation. Rounded out by bassist Jah Wobble, drummer Jim Walker and guitarist Keith Levene - his new group Public Image Limited was born.

PiL was a very distinct prospect from the Pistols, founded with a greater thought for rhythm, and with a sound that turned the page from snarling punk to a more experimental sound fusing rock, dance, folk, ballet, pop and dub. But that’s not to say Lydon’s new outfit lacked vitriol. Public Image hit out against the notorious British tabloid press, who never gave Lydon an easy ride, and against his own Sex Pistols public image – “You only saw me for the clothes I wore.”

The debut single (and the album that followed) operated as a theme song and a manifesto: “...My entrance/My own creation/My grand finale/My goodbye,” as the lyrics had it. It is, essentially, the sound of four people letting loose in a studio – and not caring what anyone else thought. The album was never officially released in the US back in the day, its sound considered too un-commercial by major-labels for an American release.

First Issue has now been lovingly reproduced from the original UK 1978 release with a clutch of post-punk era treasures. The vinyl edition comes pressed on 180g LP housed in gatefold, tip-on jacket and includes an archive replica fold-out poster, archive replica tabloid adverts, set of stickers, and a download card with the full album, bonus "Cowboy Song" and an archival BBC interview, all of which were approved and coordinated with John Lydon and his personal management.

Public Image Limited First Issue Track Listing:

1. Theme
2. Religion I
3. Religion II
4. Annalisa
5. Public Image
6. Low Life
7. Attack
8. Fodderstompf

We Also Recommend