Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Pylon - Pylon Box Vinyl 4LP Box Set - direct audio

Pylon - Pylon Box Vinyl 4LP Box Set

New West Records

  • $ 29998

Pylon Pylon Box Vinyl 4LP Box Set


Vinyl 4LP Box Set featuring Gyrate and Chomp Remastered from the Original Tapes, Collection of Rarities with 5 Previously Unreleased Studio/Live Recordings, and Pylon's First-Ever Recording Plus 200-Page Book!

Pylon was born in 1979 in Athens, Georgia. Throughout their brief history, they were able to create influential work that would help foster the post-punk and art-rock scene of the early 80s. Their 1979 single "Cool" b/w "Dub" has reached legendary status with Rolling Stone calling it one of the "100 Greatest Debut Singles of All Time," and was followed by their albums Gyrate (1980) and Chomp (1983). The band would break up upon Chomp's arrival, but their music would continue to influence genres, musicians and fans for years to come.

New West Records is proud to present Pylon Box – A comprehensive look at the band that features their studio LPs Gyrate and Chomp, both of which have been remastered from their original tapes, the 11-song collection Extra which includes rarities and five previously unreleased studio and live recordings, as well as Razz Tape, Pylon's first-ever recording: a 13-song unreleased session that pre-dates the band's seminal "Cool" b/w "Dub" debut.

Pylon Box also Includes a hardbound, 200 page full color book featuring pieces written by the members of R.E.M., Gang of Four, Steve Albini, Corin Tucker and Carrie Brownstein of Sleater-Kinney, Sonic Youth, Interpol, B-52's, Bradford Cox of Deerhunter, Mission of Burma, Calvin Johnson of Beat Happening & K Records, Anthony DeCurtis, Chris Stamey of the dB's, Steve Wynn of the Dream Syndicate and many more.

Includes an extensive essay chronicling the band's history with interviews with the surviving members of the band as well as members of R.E.M., B-52's, Gang of Four, Method Actors, and more. It also features never before seen images and artifacts from both the band's personal archives as well as items now housed at the Special Collections Library at the University of Georgia as well as the Georgia Museum of Art, UGA.


• Vinyl 4LP box set
• 47 tracks in all, including 18 unreleased recordings
• The studio albums Gyrate and Chomp – newly remastered from the original tapes, and available on vinyl for the first time in more than 30 years
• Extra – a collection of singles, B-sides, rarities and live recordings
• Razz Tape – the first-ever Pylon recording, a 13-song unreleased session that predates their 1979 debut single, "Cool"/"Dub"
• Autographed 200 page, full-color, hardbound book featuring a treasure trove of never before seen images and artifacts

Pylon Pylon Track Listing:

LP1 - Gyrate 

1. Volume
2. Feast On My Heart
3. Precaution
4. Weather Radio
5. The Human Body
6. Read A Book
7. Driving School
8. Gravity
9. Danger
10. Working Is No Problem
11. Stop It

LP2 - Chomp

1. K
2. Yo-Yo
3. Beep
4. Italian Movie Theme
5. Crazy
6. M-Train
7. Buzz
8. No Clocks
9. Reptiles
10. Spider
11. Gyrate
12. Altitude

LP3 - Razz Tape

1. The Human Body
2. Modern Day Fashion Woman (Version 1)
3. Read A Book (Instrumental)
4. Working Is No Problem
5. Precaution
6. Cool
7. Functionality
8. Efficiency
9. Information
10. Dub
11. Modern Day Fashion Woman (Version 2)
12. Danger
13. Feast On My Heart (Working Version)

LP4 - Extra

1. Diagonal - Untitled
2. Cool
3. Dub
4. Recent Title
5. Danger!! (Danger Remix)
6. Crazy (Single Mix)
7. Reptiles (Channel One Version)
8. No Clocks (Channel One Version)
9. Spider (Alternate Mix)
10. 3 X 3 (Live)
11. Danger III (Live)

We Also Recommend