Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Queen - Jazz Vinyl LP - direct audio

Queen - Jazz Vinyl LP

Hollywood Records

  • $ 2498

Queen Jazz Vinyl LP

Queen’s seventh studio album was the first to be recorded outside the UK. Sessions began at Mountain Studios in Switzerland, in July 1978, and later moved to Super Bear studios in Nice, France, concluding in October. Though producer Roy Thomas Baker had been absent on the previous two LPs (A Day At The Races and News Of The World), both of which the band produced themselves (with trusted collaborator Mike Stone), Jazz saw the team reunited for this project - though it would prove to be the last Queen/Baker production. 

Once again the finished album was very different to anything to have come before. The change of scenery in terms of recording studios gave rise to a fresh exuberant sounding album and a greatly diverse range of songs – 13 songs no less! This period saw the emergence of several tracks that would go on to become not only significant international hits, but great favorites among the fans, and staples of the Queen live show for the remainder of the 1970s and well into the 80s. The album reached No. 2 in the UK charts and achieved Gold sales status. In the U.S. it attained Platinum status and peaked at No. 6.

As with previous albums, Jazz offered a greatly varied selection of songs and styles, reflecting a frenetic period in the band’s song writing. On the previous album News Of The World, Queen had returned to a ‘back to basics’ feel, but for this, in new surroundings and with the assistance of Roy Thomas Baker, they experimented again and explored an even greater variation of musical avenues and tangents, as they had on the earliest albums. Queen again proved that all four band members were capable of writing songs in all styles of music - and hit songs at that.

Probably the most popular and recognizable song on the album – aside from Mercury's Tour De France ode "Bicycle Race" and May's groupie classic "Fat Bottomed Girls" which were released together as the album's first single - is Freddie's penultimate track, "Don’t Stop Me Now." Featuring its writer playing some amazing piano, and a memorable guitar solo from Brian, this is one of Queen’s best known, radio friendly and most widely covered songs of all. 

Queen Jazz Track Listing:

1. Mustapha
2. Fat Bottomed Girls
3. Jealousy
4. Bicycle Race
5. If You Can't Beat Them
6. Let Me Entertain You
7. Dead On Time
8. In Only Seven Days
9. Dreamer's Ball
10. Fun It
11. Leaving Home Ain't Easy
12. Don't Stop Me Now
13. More of That Jazz

We Also Recommend