Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Queen - The Miracle on 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Queen - The Miracle on 180g Vinyl LP

Hollywood Records

  • $ 3498

Queen The Miracle on 180g Vinyl LP

Sourced from the Original Master Tapes, Mastered By Bob Ludwig, Cut at Half-Speed at Abbey Road Studios, and Pressed at Optimal in Germany

Prior to the sessions for their thirteenth album The Miracle, Queen band members had spent 1987 apart, working upon individual projects. Also during this period the four men had experienced considerable personal turmoil in their private lives. The year apart would prove to be greatly beneficial as everyone came to the new sessions with renewed vigour and enthusiasm, and with an abundance of ideas. As usual, The Miracle would contain a diverse selection of songs both lyrically and musically, and take the band off at yet more unlikely and unexpected tangents. For the very first time on a Queen album all the songs were credited as being written by the band collectively, regardless of the actual author.

This was, after all, during the period when the Queen members were pulling together extremely closely, and in enforced secrecy, in dealing with Freddie’s deteriorating illness. Indeed, there was the very real likelihood during these sessions that Freddie would not be around to complete the work. The four men closed ranks like never before to focus on the work ahead and let nothing deter them from their course.

The album commences in typically grandiose fashion, with the aptly named "Party," and segues into "Khashoggi’s Ship" about the infamous billionaire Adnan Khashoggi. These two guitar driven songs make a great pairing to open up the album. Next up is the song which would lend its name to the album. "The Miracle," with its meticulously crafted lyric, is a celebration of life’s triumphs and of some of the extraordinary wonders we all tend to take for granted. It is the song that Brian would later describe as one of Freddie’s best – “A small masterpiece in it’s own way.”

"The Invisible Man," finds the band exploring yet another funk-based fast tempo musical tangent and would ultimately be issued as a single. The fast rhythm was also incorporated for the next song, and another single, "Breakthru." "Rain Must Fall," featuring Latin percussion and calypso rhythms, and "My Baby Does Me," with its bass-driven summer feel, are again untypical Queen songs, and initially penned by John and Freddie in their soul influenced mood.

In stark contrast to the rather mellow dance material, the uncompromising "Scandal," comes next, written largely about the notorious British news press. Closing the album is the semi-autobiographical "Was It All Worth It." This heavy percussion and guitar based track, with completely over the top orchestrated middle section, is Queen very much back to their uncompromising bombastic rock roots, looking back at past achievements and experiences spanning two decades of touring the world and making music together.

Queen The Miracle Track Listing:

1. Party
2. Khashoggi's Ship
3. The Miracle
4. I Want It All
5. The Invisible Man
6. Breakthru
7. Rain Must Fall
8. Scandal
9. My Baby Does Me
10. Was It All Worth It

We Also Recommend