Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Queen - The Works on 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Queen - The Works on 180g Vinyl LP

Hollywood Records

  • $ 3498

Queen The Works on 180g Vinyl LP

Sourced from the Original Master Tapes, Mastered By Bob Ludwig, Cut at Half-Speed at Abbey Road Studios, and Pressed at Optimal in Germany

When Queen’s eleventh studio album The Works was released in 1984, many fan’s and critics alike hailed this as a return to their rock roots, and the traditional ‘Queen sound’, which was absent on the previous album Hot Space in 1982. The album entered the UK chart at No. 2, on the strength of hit single "Radio Ga Ga." The band was so enthusiastic about the new material and everything they put into it, that they were inspired to title the record The Works.

The album was again produced by Queen and Reinhold Mack, as after the previous three albums a good working relationship had been formed and was only logical that this should continue. Freddie contributed film holdover "Keep Passing The Open Windows," "Man On The Prowl" and It's a Hard Life." The latter would be cited as one of Brian and Roger’s favorites, its intro based on an aria called Vesti La Giubba from the opera Pagliacci by Ruggero Leoncavallo, who was an Italian opera composer, while "Man On The Prowl" is in a rockabilly style.

Brian’s contributions were two guitar driven heavy rockers called "Tear It Up" and "Hammer To Fall," very much in the Queen style of old. Where as "Tear It Up" is very simple in it’s arrangement, "Hammer To Fall" on the other hand is a more socially conscious and complicated song. Roger of course provided the album with its anchor, No. 1 smash "Radio Ga Ga" while the second single was John Deacon’s only contribution to the album, "I Want To Break Free."

Queen The Works Track Listing:

1. Radio Ga Ga
2. Tear It up
3. It's A Hard Life
4. Man On the Prowl
5. Machines (Or Back to Humans)
6. I Want To Break Free
7. Keep Passing the Open Windows
8. Hammer to Fall
9. Is This the World We Created...?

We Also Recommend