We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
R.E.M. - MTV Unplugged: 1991 Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

R.E.M. - MTV Unplugged: 1991 Vinyl 2LP

Rhino Records

  • $ 3998

R.E.M. MTV Unplugged: 1991 Vinyl 2LP

Includes 5 Songs Not Aired On the Original Television Broadcast

R.E.M. delivered two knockout performances on MTV’s Grammy and Emmy award-winning Unplugged series, the first in 1991 and the other in 2001, giving them the unique distinction of being the only band to headline the series twice. Surprisingly, audio from both shows had never been available, making these recordings some of the most demanded music in the R.E.M. vaults.

That changed on Record Store Day, April 19th, 2014, when Rhino released both performances as a limited edition, four-LP set. The collection includes every performance from the original broadcasts, as well as 11 songs that never aired. Due to strong demand from both consumers and retail on that limited-edition release, Rhino is now breaking the two shows into two individual 2LP-sets.

Drummer Bill Berry, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist Mike Mills, and singer Michael Stipe recorded their first Unplugged session in 1991, while riding a growing wave of success that began in 1987 with the commercial breakthrough of Document. Much of the performance spotlights songs from R.E.M.'s then-current album Out Of Time, which sold over 18 million copies worldwide and was the band’s first #1 album in the U.S. From the album, the band performed “Radio Song,” “Low” and its biggest American hit, “Losing My Religion.”

The remainder of the set list spans eight years of music and touches on five different albums, mixing “Perfect Circle” from R.E.M.’s 1983 debut Murmur and fan-favorites like “Fall On Me” and “Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)” with a cover of The Troggs’ “Love Is All Around.” Five songs that never aired can be heard on this set for the first time, including two tracks from the multi-platinum Green – “Get Up” and “World Leader Pretend.”

R.E.M. MTV Unplugged - 1991 Track Listing:


1. Half A World Away
2. Disturbance at the Heron House
3. Radio Song
4. Low
5. Perfect Circle
6. Fall on Me
7. Belong
8. Love Is All Around


1. Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
2. Losing My Religion
3. Pop Song 89
4. Endgame
5. Fretless *
6. Swan Swan H *
7. Rotary 11 *
8. Get Up *
9. World Leader Pretend *

* Not included in original television broadcast

We Also Recommend