Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Rachel's - Selenography Vinyl 2LP + Download - direct audio

Rachel's - Selenography Vinyl 2LP + Download

Quarterstick Records

  • $ 2498

Rachel's Selenography Vinyl 2LP + Download

Rachel's is a collective of musicians based in Louisville, KY. Since releasing their first Quarterstick Records album in 1995, the group has performed in libraries, churches, rock dungeons, ballrooms, gardens, bowling alleys, and movie theaters across North America and Europe. They have often worked with filmmakers, dance companies, stage productions, printmakers, and photographers. Their recordings and shows have elicited numerous descriptions including "subversives with a cello,” “classical post-rock," "post-classical” and "lo-fi Louisville loafers."

Originally released in 1999, Rachel’s fourth album is a collection of songs that had been staples of the band’s live shows and songs that arose from the freedom of having a home studio. A primary factor in the creation of this record was that for the first time, all three songwriters lived in the same city; Christian Frederickson having joined Rachel Grimes and Jason Noble in Louisville, KY.

The first session at Chicago Recording Company in July of 1997 was a clearing of the decks, recording a backlog of songs the band had been performing live for years but hadn’t put to tape. A year of touring and songwriting preceded the band’s return to the studio, this time at Pachyderm Studios in Cannon Falls, MN. Four days of seclusion in the wilderness produced a group of songs which the band brought home to Louisville. Recording at home allowed the band to experiment with integrating live and electronic textures.

Rachel's Selenography Track Listing:


1. A French Galleasse
2. On Demeter
3. The Last Light
4. Kentucky Nocturne
5. Honeysuckle Suite (Sugar Maple-Elm-Sweetgum)
6. Artemisia


1. Old Road 60
2. An Evening of Long Goodbyes
3. Cuts the Metal Cold
4. The Mysterious Disappearance of Louis LePrince
5. Forgiveness
6. Hearts and Drums

We Also Recommend