Cart 0
Rainbow - On Stage on 2LP - direct audio

Rainbow - On Stage on Vinyl 2LP

Polydor Records

  • $ 3598

Rainbow On Stage on Vinyl 2LP

Ritchie Blackmore is one of the genuine guitar gods of heavy metal, first gaining fame with Deep Purple and then with his own Rainbow. For nearly a decade Rainbow was one of the most popular hard rock bands in the world. Initially album-oriented, the group's acclaim grew exponentially with the success of singles like "Since You Been Gone," "I Surrender," "Stone Cold" and "Street Of Dreams."

Recorded in late 1976, approximately one year before front man Ronnie James Dio's departure from the band, this explosive live set stands as one of the decade's pivotal concert recordings. On par with Kiss' Alive, UFO's Strangers in the Night, and Deep Purple's Made In Japan, the double album teems with blistering performances and unfettered energy.

Dio's melancholic showing on a cover of Deep Purple's "Mistreated" here blows away the original and as the perfect foil, Blackmore takes the opportunity to stretch out solos and indulge in bluesy improvisations, turning "Man on the Silver Mountain" into a multi-part medley and the slowly building, fantasy-themed "Catch the Rainbow" into an epic workout.

Rainbow's rhythm section is equally inspired. Drummer Cozy Powell jump-starts high-voltage passages with urgent beats and timely playing. In sync with the irreplaceable contributions of organist/keyboardist Tony Carey, bassist Jimmy Bain supplies a taut foundation. On Stage is in effect a document of a vital hard-rock band pushing itself to the maximum and succeeding in taking its audiences on an unforgettable journey. Blackmore's inventive passages and colorful tones are alone worth the price of admission.

Rainbow On Stage Track Listing:


1. Kill The King
2. Medley: Man On The Silver Mountain/Blues/Starstruck
3. Catch The Rainbow


1. Mistreated
2. Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
3. Still I’m Sad

We Also Recommend