Cart 0
Ray Charles - Live In Concert on 200g LP - direct audio

Ray Charles - Live In Concert on 200g LP

Analogue Productions

  • $ 3498

Ray Charles Live In Concert on 200g LP from Analogue Productions

Lively 1964 Affair Captures Peak-Era Charles and 15-Piece Backing Orchestra Lighting up the Stage

Wally Heider Recording Presents Charles, Musicians Upfront and Personal: Analogue Productions 200g LP Reissue Brings It All to Fore in Great Clarity

Raelettes, David Newman Among Cast That Lends Support

Ray Charles' Genius + Soul = Jazz and Ray Charles and Betty Carter Also Available from Analogue Productions on 200g LP

If it's hearty R&B, sweat-drenched soul, and classic boogie you're after, look no further. Ray Charles has your number. Recorded on September 20, 1964 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles, CA by Wally Heider, Live In Concert features an outstanding 12-song set played to absolute perfection by the peerless Charles and an accompanying 15-piece orchestra.

Brother Ray's best R&B hits such as "I Gotta Woman" and "What'd I Say," are framed brilliantly here alongside playful cuts like "Makin' Whoopee." Even better, the original Wally Heider recording positioned the musicians upfront, for a a great personal perspective. Hence, not only does Charles' piano assume lifelike imaging, but the band's support, including turns by saxophonist David "Fathead" Newman and the Raelettes, takes on three-dimensional qualities.

Made at Quality Record Pressings, this 200g LP magnifies the presence of the orchestra and the iconic vocalist and quiets down any interfering ambience. Prime Charles, premier sound: How can you go wrong?

Ray Charles Live In Concert Track Listing:

1. Opening
2. Band: Swing A Little Taste
3. I Gotta Woman
4. Margie
5. You Don't Know Me
6. Hide Nor Hair
7. Baby, Don't You Cry
8. Makin' Whoopee
9. Hallelujah I Love Her So
10. Don't Set Me Free
11. What'd I Say
12. Finale

We Also Recommend