Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Rey Pila - The Future Sugar on Colored Vinyl LP - direct audio

Rey Pila - The Future Sugar on Colored Vinyl LP

Sour Mash Records

  • $ 2298

Rey Pila The Future Sugar on Colored Vinyl LP

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl Colored Copies Are Limited Contact Us!

Rey Pila was born in Mexico City in 2009 as a solo project by Diego Solorzano. His self-titled, debut full-length, co-produced by Solorzano and Paul Majahan (TV on the Radio/Liars/Yeah Yeah Yeahs) garnered tremendous praise in Mexico and attention abroad from outlets such as NYLON and SPIN, and was supported by shows with the likes of TV on the Radio, Muse and Ariel Pink.

Rey Pila’s current lineup of Solorzano with Rodrigo Blanco, Andres Velasco and Miguel Hernandez moved to New York City in late 2012 and enlisted producer Chris Coady (Beach House/Wavves/Smith Westerns) to begin work on their sophomore album. Some months later, the album unexpectedly caught the attention of Julian Casablancas, blasting from the speakers of an office he was visiting. He ended up signing Rey Pila to his label, Cult Records, releasing the single “Alexander” in late 2013.

Rey Pila toured across the western half of North America last fall, supporting Interpol, appearing twice on “Last Call with Carson Daly”, and performing at Austin City Limits Festival, where the Austin American Statesman asked, “Is Rey Pila the coolest band performing at Austin City Limits?” and led Consequence of Sound to say, “[Rey Pila] might be [Cult Records] true secret weapon, a goldmine of hits waiting to be obsessed upon.”

Rey Pila re-entered the studio with Casablancas this spring to complete The Future Sugar, with a completely new mix of the full album by Shawn Everett (Weezer/Lucius), before joining The Rentals on a month-long tour across North America. The Future Sugar will arrive in July 2015 on Cult Records.

“Mixing the sounds of Roxy Music, Simple Minds, and maybe a touch of the Strokes, Rey Pila make great new wave music for a new generation of fans.” - KEXP

Rey Pila The Future Sugar Track Listing:

1. Fire Away
2. White Night
3. Surveillance Camera
4. Alexander
5. False Self System
6. The Future Sugar
7. Nerds
8. Order Police
9. What a Nice Surprise

We Also Recommend