Cart 0
Rickie Lee Jones - It's Like This Hybrid Stereo SACD - direct audio

Rickie Lee Jones - It's Like This Hybrid Stereo SACD

Analogue Productions

  • $ 2999

Rickie Lee Jones It's Like This  Hybrid Stereo SACD

Mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Grey! Not since Billie Holiday has there been a vocalist who so completely transforms a song into her own. On It's Like This, eclectic folkie Rickie Lee Jones envelops standards, showtunes, '70s soul, and even slick jazz-rock, interpreting them with her familiar childlike, breathy shouts. In a very similar vein as 1991's Pop Pop, Jones pulls together a collection of diverse songs from throughout the 20th century and gives them a sparse, fragile spin, kind of like Diana Krall and Bjork sharing coffee at an all-night diner.

Produced by Bruce Brody (who has also worked with Maria McKee and Bette Midler), this album is really a showcase for the dynamic vocalist - her voice pitching and yawing like a sloop far out at sea. Several notable artists scatter themselves unobtrusively throughout the album like Joe Jackson, Ben Folds, John Pizzarelli, and Taj Mahal; each lend a subtle bass line or harmony vocal, cautiously not stepping on any of Jones' delicate lines. This one is a must hear!

Rickie Lee Jones It's Like This Track Listing:

1. Show Biz Kids
2. Trouble Man
3. Foo One
4. Smile
5. Low Spark of High Heeled Boys
6. On The Street Where You Live
7. I Can't Get Started
8. Up A Lazy River
9. Someone To Watch Over Me
10. Cycles
11. One Hand, One Heart

We Also Recommend