We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherazade - Reiner - Chicago Symphony Orchestra on 200g LP - direct audio

Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherazade - Reiner - Chicago Symphony Orchestra on 200g LP

Analogue Productions

  • $ 3498

Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherazade - Reiner - Chicago Symphony Orchestra on 200g LP

RCA Living Stereo Limited Edition Series from Analogue Productions

25 Premier-Sounding Titles from RCA's Living Stereo Golden Era Available on 200g LP (Cut at 33 1/3) & Hybrid SACD (Most Will Be 3-Channel)

Remastered from the Original 2 and 3 Track Master Tapes & Recut by Engineer Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound in New York

RCA's "golden age" was more like a "golden minute" - in a scant period, roughly from 1958 to 1963, the beginning of the stereo era - pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and midband illumination.

The jewel in the Living Stereo crown. This recording of Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov's symphonic suite Scheherazade, like the Respighi is considered one of the very best LPs by Fritz Reiner, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and RCA's crew. Another Mohr and Layton classic!

"…The second movement is just ravishing in the beauty of the Chicago's playing and Reiner's romantic approach; there is some staccato triple-tonguing done by trumpeter Adolph Herseth in the fourth movement that should leave you, if not him, breathless. But let it just be said that, after you hear this, no other Scheherazade will ever replace it in your affections." - HP's The Golden Dozen LPs / Harry Pearson, The Absolute Sound, June/July 2007

Pressed at Quality Record Pressings and plated by Gary Salstrom. Packaged in the original tip-on jacket facsimiles that precisely duplicate the original cover art, including the "Living Stereo" logo, LSC numbers and "Shaded Dog" label. These reissues are designed from the mastering, to the cutting, to the pressing and packaging to be the finest RCA Living Stereo LPs ever reissued. These new versions are clearer than the originals and warmer and richer than past reissues!

"These are the best vinyl releases of RCA LPs I've yet heard." - Jonathan Valin / Executive Editor, The Absolute Sound


Composer – Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Conductor – Fritz Reiner
Orchestra – Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherazade - Reiner - Chicago Symphony Orchestra Track Listing:

1. The Sea And Sinbads Ship
2. The Story Of The Kalender Prince
3. The Young Prince And The Young Princess
4. Festival In Bagdad; The Sea; The Ship Goes To Pieces On A Rock Surmounted By A Bronze Warrior

We Also Recommend