We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Ringo Deathstarr - Ringo Deathstarr 180g Colored Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) - direct audio

Ringo Deathstarr - Ringo Deathstarr 180g Colored Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock)

Levitation Partners

  • $ 2498

Ringo Deathstarr Ringo Deathstarr 180g Colored Vinyl LP

Ringo Deathstarr have been one of the finest exemplars of blown-out shoegaze and amped-up dream pop. Their albums are home to an unbroken string of memorable songs delivered with just the right blend of noise and melody, all driven home with a heavy dose of glitter and feedback. It's good to see that after taking a few years off from issuing records, 2020's self-titled album finds the band doing the same thing they've always done. Almost.

This time around, the trio have broadened and softened their approach a little, leaning more towards the melodic and opening up their arrangements a little. "God Help the Ones You Love" and "Heaven Obscured" darken and lighten the mood respectively with their gothy, Lush-like atmosphere, "Disease" is a wobbly, lo-fi ballad that sounds like it was dubbed from an old cassette, "Be Love" is a hazy hallucination of a song set to a wonkily baggy beat, and the fuzzily metallic singsong waltz "Cotton Candy Clouds" is a happily weird way to end the album.

These slight detours -- and the super-poppy tunes like "Gazin" that dot the landscape -- give the more traditionally heavy shoegaze songs more room to breathe, and when they hit, they punch harder than a pneumatic hammer. "Once Upon A Freak" is loping, Medicine-esque, and has giant smears of guitar obscuring the melody, the guitars on "Just Like You" threaten to overpower the rock-solid rhythm section, and "Lazy Lane" has the sound one might imagine a swarm of a billion bees might have.

Ringo Deathstarr Ringo Deathstarr Track Listing:

1. Nagoya
2. God Help The Ones You Love
3. Gazin
4. Once Upon A Freak
5. Disease
6. Just Like You
7. In Your Arms
8. Heaven Obscured
9. Lazy Lane
10. The Same Again
11. Be Love
12. I Don t Want To Lose This
13. Cotton Candy Clouds

We Also Recommend