We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Robert Glasper - Canvas (80th) 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Robert Glasper - Canvas (80th) 180g Vinyl 2LP

Blue Note Records

  • $ 3498

Robert Glasper Canvas (80th) 180g Vinyl 2LP

Blue Note 80 Vinyl Reissue Series Curated by Don Was and Cem Kurosman; Inaugural Blue Note Debuts (Part 1) Themed Installment Presented on 180g Vinyl 2LP

In honor of Blue Note Records' 80th Anniversary, the legendary jazz label is launching the Blue Note 80 Vinyl Reissue Series. Distinct from the Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series, this second series curated by Don Was and Cem Kurosman features 180g vinyl LP releases in standard packaging with albums spanning the many eras of the label's history presented by themes: Blue Note Debuts, Blue Grooves, Great Reid Miles Covers, Blue Note Live, and Blue Note Drummer Leaders. The series launches in May 2019 with the reissue of three remarkable Blue Note debuts – Herbie Hancock Takin' Off, Dexter Gordon Doin' Allright, and Robert Glasper Canvas – and will continue with three albums released each month for the coming year.

On his acclaimed 2005 Blue Note debut Canvas, pianist and composer Robert Glasper proved he had jazz chops in abundance with his acoustic trio featuring bassist Vicente Archer and drummer Damion Reid, while a hip hop sub-context lay just beneath the surface in the album's skittering beats, hinting at future directions that Glasper would take on albums like the Grammy-winning Black Radio years later. The album featured special guests Mark Turner on tenor saxophone plus vocalist Bilal, and presented Glasper's signature sound on nine original tunes as well as a nod to one of his biggest influences Herbie Hancock with a version of "Riot."


Robert Glasper, piano
Vicente Archer, bass
Damien Reid, drums
Mark Turner, tenor saxophone
Bilal, vocals


• Blue Note 80 Vinyl Reissue Series
• 180g double vinyl LP
• Curated by Don Was and Cem Kurosman
• Theme: Blue Note Debuts (Part 1)
• Standard packaging

Robert Glasper Canvas (80th) Track Listing:


1. Rise And Shine
2. Canvas
3. Portrait Of An Angel
4. Enoch's Meditation
5. Centelude


1. Jelly's Da Beener
2. Chant
3. Riot
4. North Portland
5. I Remember

We Also Recommend