Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Robert Wyatt - Nothing Can Stop Us on Limited Edition Vinyl LP + CD - direct audio

Robert Wyatt - Nothing Can Stop Us on Limited Edition Vinyl LP + CD

Domino Records

  • $ 2499

Robert Wyatt Nothing Can Stop Us on Limited Edition Vinyl LP + CD

Part One of the Rober Wyatt Limited Edition Vinyl Re-issue Series

Limited to 2000 Copies

It’s far too easy to abuse the phrase “living legend,” but when used to describe Robert Wyatt, you’re in no danger of hyperbole: gifted songwriter; political activist; drummer in the Canterbury jazz/prog pioneers Soft Machine and contemporaries of the original lineup of Pink Floyd; collaborator with the likes of Brian Eno, David Gilmour, Phil Manzanera, Fred Frith, Paul Weller, Scritti Politti, Elvis Costello and his beloved wife Alfreda Benge, to name but a few.

Perhaps his greatest gift though is his voice, a reedy instrument of great warmth and emotion; one need only hear his interpretation of the classic “Shipbuilding” (a song that was written for him by Costello and producer Clive Langer) and you shall be smitten for life. Domino is incredibly honored to be releasing a near-complete re-issue series of Robert’s solo recorded works in the form of these limited edition LP+CD versions. Each title is limited to 2000 copies. There will be only one pressing so, once these are gone, they are gone for good.

Nothing Can Stop Us was recorded with a straight, simple, beauty informed by the experience of geopolitics just as the term was being invented. "Arauco" drew on the street 'mass songs' of a Chile protesting at the imminent arrival of Pinochet. "Stalin Wasn't Stallin'" was a playful resurrection of a barbershop quartet that sincerely, and unbelievably, aligned the USA with the Soviet Union. Most startling of all was Wyatt's version of Chic's "At Last I Am Free." Breathless and hymnal it gave pause for thought for anyone who liked to use the words personal and political in the same sentence.

Robert Wyatt Nothing Can Stop Us Track Listing:

1. Born Again Cretin
2. At Last I Am Free
3. Caimanera
4. Grass
5. Stalin Wasn't Stallin'
6. Red Flag
7. Strange Fruit
8. Arauco
9. Trade Union
10. Stalingrad

We Also Recommend