Cart 0
Roy Orbison - Memphis on 180g LP - direct audio

Roy Orbison - Memphis on 180g Vinyl LP

Roy Orbison

  • $ 2498

Roy Orbison Memphis on 180g Vinyl LP

2015 Remaster in Recognition of the 50th Anniversary of Orbison's Signing to the MGM Label!

2015 marks a historic 50-year milestone for music legend Roy Orbison. On July 1, 1965, The Big O left Monument Records and signed with MGM Records, going on to release 11 studio albums, a film soundtrack and 27 singles over the course of the following eight years, and at the same time scoring another 11 worldwide Top 40 hits. In recognition of this golden anniversary of Orbison's signing of one of the most lucrative and groundbreaking record deals of the era, Universal is releasing the all encompassing MGM Years box set and reissuing his output for the label in remastered stand alone 180g vinyl versions.

Roy's signing with MGM gave him a newfound musical freedom that can be heard throughout his tenure with the label. Memphis was originally released in November of 1972 and is the eleventh album in his MGM catalog. Roy runs the gamut here on a range of styles including rock & roll, country and pop with excellent results especially on Chuck Berry's "Memphis, Tennessee" and the classic ballad "Danny Boy." Roy also pays his respects to heroes like Don Gibson ("I Can't Stop Loving You") and Sonny Curtis ("I Fought the Law") to round out the record. This re-issue is fully remixed and remastered to return the audio to its original glory. Package also includes fully restored original artwork.

Roy Orbison Memphis Track Listing:

1. Memphis, Tennessee
2. Why A Woman Cries
3. Run, Baby, Run (Back into My Arms)
4. Take Care of Your Woman
5. I'm The Man On Susie's Mind
6. I Can't Stop Loving You
7. Run The Engines Up High
8. It Ain't No Big Thing
9. I Fought the Law
10. The Three Bells
11. Danny Boy


We Also Recommend