Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Rudresh Mahanthappa - Hero Trio Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Rudresh Mahanthappa - Hero Trio Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Whirlwind Recordings

  • $ 2998

Rudresh Mahanthappa Hero Trio Vinyl LP

Over the course of an illustrious 25-year career Rudresh Mahanthappa's music making has constantly pushed at the artistic boundaries to encompass such diverse influences as classic bebop, the flash and fury of electric fusion, and the complexities of Carnatic music, while always maintaining a clear sense of his own fiercely intelligent, uncompromising musical personality. On Hero Trio, his sixteenth release as a leader/co-leader, he has moved the focus away from his own compositions to pay tribute to his greatest influences with an album of interpretations.

All of the material is presented in Mahanthappa's characteristically original arrangements, and to approach them with the greatest degree of freedom and spontaneity he chose to record in trio format, enlisting the talents of long-time associates François Moutin on bass and Rudy Royston on drums. Their effortless collective virtuosity, and the perfect attunement of their musical thinking honed over two decades of playing together, makes this album an outstanding addition to the genre. Hero Trio is both a striking statement of Mahanthappa's own unique vision, and a tribute to his musical inspirations.

"I have always wanted to record in the powerful yet intimate trio format. It would be an incomplete venture without somehow celebrating the quintessential saxophone trio work of Sonny Rollins, Lee Konitz, and Ornette Coleman. Outside of the jazz world, I first saw both Johnny Cash and Stevie Wonder on Sesame Street as a child and have always found their work to be beautiful, humorous, pensive, and utterly joyful.

They have played such a strong role in helping me to look beyond the illusory boundaries of genre towards seeing music as a magical force that binds humanity. With this album, we seek to endorse and spread that message widely."

Rudresh Mahanthappa Hero Trio Track Listing:

1. Red Cross
2. Overjoyed
3. Barbados - 26/2
4. I Can't Get Started
5. The Windup
6. Ring Of Fire
7. I'll Remember April
8. Sadness
9. Dewey Square

We Also Recommend