We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Rush - Permanent Waves on Numbered Limited-Edition 24K Gold CD from Mobile Fidelity - direct audio

Rush - Permanent Waves on Numbered Limited-Edition 24K Gold CD from Mobile Fidelity

Mobile Fidelity

  • $ 5998

Rush Permanent Waves on Numbered Limited-Edition 24K Gold CD from Mobile Fidelity

Numbered Limited Edition Mini-LP Style Packaging!

Mobile Fidelity’s Numbered 24K Gold CD of Permanent Waves Bristles With Energy

Remaster of 1980 Classic is Best-Sounding Rush Document in Existence

The first of three consecutive studio masterpieces, Permanent Waves firmly established Rush as a household-name band whose appeal went far beyond its initial audience of music nerds, obsessive intellects, and science-fiction freaks. Anchored by the sizzling “The Spirit of Radio” and assertive “Free Will,” each longtime radio and concert staples, the record found the group folding pop sounds of the era (namely, reggae-infused accents and energetic hooks) into its hard-rock template. The moves were a stroke of genius.

Shorter song lengths, space-age Moog keyboards, and uncluttered arrangements translated into catchier material—and announced the beginning of Rush’s transition away from complex prog and towards synthesized rock. Permanent Waves represents the trio’s best balance of the two approaches. And the ageless record is one reason why Rush is finally experiencing a windfall of long-overdue respect from the mainstream, garnering accolades from contemporary television shows (“The Colbert Report”), films (I Love You Man and Adventureland), and fellow peers (Metallica’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame acceptance speech lobbied for Rush’s inclusion in the institution).

Sticklers for precision and perfection, the group demanded nothing less than the best from itself and production team. There’s no better place to experience it than on Mobile Fidelity’s astounding remaster. Sourced from the original analog tapes, this exposes you to just how much detail and information you’ve been missing out on hearing. And Neil Peart fans, listen up. The full dynamic range of the drummer’s percussive spectrum is now completely exposed for the first time on record.

“Superb separation, a wide soundstage, and life-size images abound. Evidenced by the flexibility and presence of Geddy Lee’s stair-step bass lines, the midrange and low-end seem completely restored. Rush’s firm rhythms and chorus-pedal effects are also brought to fore. But the main attraction is how realistic, lively, and dynamic Neil Peart’s virtuosic drumming now sounds. Ranging from the familiar tom, snare, and cymbal roll during “The Spirit of Radio” to the closing timbale work on “Natural Science,” Peart’s percussion takes on even greater lore--if that's at all possible.” --Bob Gendron, The Absolute Sound, March 2008

We couldn't of said it any better. But given the album’s stature and dedicated fan base, these are certain to go out-of-print.

Call direct audio for your lowest-numbered copy of this limited treasure now!

Rush Permanent Waves Track Listing:

1. The Spirit Of Radio
2. Freewill
3. Jacob's Ladder
4. Entre Nous
5. Different Strings
6. Natural Science

We Also Recommend