We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Ry Cooder - Bop Till You Drop 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Ry Cooder - Bop Till You Drop 180g Vinyl LP

Warner Bros

  • $ 2498

Ry Cooder Bop Till You Drop 180g Vinyl LP

1979’s Bop Till You Drop marks acclaimed guitarist/songwriter/composer Ry Cooder's return to R&B/soul classics and has the distinction of being the first major-label digitally recorded album. Featuring accompaniment from David Lindley (guitar), Tim Drummond (bass) and Jim Keltner (drums) and an assortment of guest vocalists, the 9-song set consists of covers of largely '50s and '60s material along with the Cooder/Drummond original "Down In Hollywood." Highlights include "Little Sister,” "The Very Thing That Makes You Rich (Makes Me Poor)," “Don’t Mess Up A Good Thing” (featuring Chaka Khan) and “I Can’t Win” (featuring Bobby King).

"Ry Cooder once likened his playing – a sublime amalgam of American folk and blues, Hawaiian slack-key guitar, the Tex-Mex zest of conjunto and the regal sensuality of Afro-Cuban son – as "some kind of steam device gone out of control." Cooder's life on guitar has been distinguished by a rare mix of archaic fundamentals and exploratory passion, from his emergence as a teenage blues phenomenon with Taj Mahal and Captain Beefheart in the mid-Sixties to his roots-and-noir film soundtracks and central role in the birth and success of the 1996 Havana supersession Buena Vista Social Club.

"As a sideman, Cooder has brought true grit and emotional nuance to classic albums by Randy Newman, the Rolling Stones and Eric Clapton. Cooder is also a soulful preservationist, keeping vital pasts alive and dynamic in the modern world. A good example: the night Bob Dylan showed up at Cooder's house asking for a lesson on how to play guitar like the bluesman Sleepy John Estes." - #31 on Rolling Stone's 100 Greatest Guitarists of All-Time


- Ry Cooder (guitar/mandolin/vocals)
- Jim Keltner (drums)
- Tim Drummond (bass)
- David Lindley (guitar)
- Milt Holland (percussion/drums)
- Patrick Henderson (organ)
- Ronnie Barron (organ/guitar)
- Herman Johnson (vocals)
- Bobby King (vocals)
- Randy Lorenzo (vocals)
- Bill Johnson (vocals)
- Cliff Givins (vocals)
- Pico Payne (vocals)
- Jimmy Adams (vocals)
- Greg Prestopino (vocals)
- Chaka Khan (vocals)
- George "Biggie" McFadden (vocals)
- Herman Johnson (vocals)

Ry Cooder Bop Till You Drop Track Listing:

1. Little Sister
2. Go Home Girl
3. The Very thing That Makes You Rich (Makes Me Poor)
4. I Think It's Going To Work Out Fine
5. Down In Hollywood
6. Look At Granny Run Run
7. Trouble, You Can't Fool Me
8. Don't Mess Up A Good Thing
9. I Can't Win

We Also Recommend