We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Sam Cohen - Cool It on LP - direct audio

Sam Cohen - Cool It on LP

Columbia Records

  • $ 2199

Sam Cohen Cool It on LP

Re-release of 2015 Solo Debut from Former Apollo Sunshine and Yellowbirds Member by Dangermouse's 30th Century Records

2015 was the year that guitarist, songwriter, producer, and animator Sam Cohen set out on his sweeping solo project. Formerly a core member of Apollo Sunshine and the man behind Yellowbirds, Cohen spent the last decade touring and making records, mostly in Brooklyn, treading the tenuous boundaries between the rough­hewn, the psychedelic, and the just ­plain ­timelessly ­cool. Along the way he's lent his guitar playing to the likes of Bob Weir, Norah Jones, Cee­Lo, and label­mate EDJ. Cohen also directs a beloved annual recreation of The Last Waltz that has featured Nels Cline, Cass McCombs, and former bandmate Twin Shadow, amongst dozens of others.

Cool It, Cohen's solo debut, is an extension of the kaleidoscopic terrain evident on previous projects, but where those records rested blissfully in the sonic ether, this album reaches outward with more directness than ever, dropping a spotlight on Cohen's arresting and unconventional songwriting. The melodic ebb and flow might call Harry Nilsson to mind, while guitars and synths flicker under song forms, occasionally overtaking them in fits of molten stoner rock. Dynamic vocal deliveries turn sharp corners, ranging from gruff to tender, sometimes within a single stanza.

Cohen plays and recorded everything on the album himself (save a few guest appearances from his former Yellowbirds compatriots), largely in a week­long flurry in upstate New York. One creative gesture, captured with a lifetime's worth of accumulated gear. Interestingly, all of the record's lead synth hooks are performed on heavily processed guitars, a technique that saturates every mix with the feel of Cohen's expansive and particular guitar virtuosity.

Sam Cohen Cool It Track Listing:

1. Let The Mountain Come To You
2. Pretty Lights
3. The Garden
4. Unconditional Love
5. Don't Shoot The Messenger
6. Last Dream
7. Kepler 62
8. A Farewell To Arms
9. Midnight Conqueror
10. El Dorado

We Also Recommend