We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Sarah Vaughan - Sarah Vaughan Sings George Gershwin Vinyl 2LP Mono - direct audio

Sarah Vaughan - Sarah Vaughan Sings George Gershwin Vinyl 2LP Mono

Verve Records

  • $ 2498

Sarah Vaughan Sarah Vaughan Sings George Gershwin Vinyl 2LP Mono

In celebration of its 60th anniversary, a vinyl reissue of a the classic 2LP set is released in its original mono mix. Sarah Vaughan’s impeccable pop-jazz vocals soar over Hal Mooney’s arrangements, which bring new life to Gershwin standards “Someone To Watch Over Me,” “I’ve Got a Crush On You,” “A Foggy Day,” “Summertime,” “The Man I Love,” and many more. Sarah Vaughan Sings George Gershwin is one for the ages.

Possessor of one of the most wondrous voices of the 20th century, Sarah Vaughan ranked with Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday in the very top echelon of female jazz singers. She often gave the impression that with her wide range, perfectly controlled vibrato, and wide expressive abilities, she could do anything she wanted with her voice.

Although not all of her many recordings are essential (give Vaughan a weak song and she might strangle it to death), Sarah Vaughan's legacy as a performer and a recording artist will be very difficult to match in the future.

Vaughan sang in church as a child and had extensive piano lessons from 1931-39; she developed into a capable keyboardist. After she won an amateur contest at the Apollo Theater, she was hired for the Earl Hines big band as a singer and second vocalist. Unfortunately, the musicians' recording strike kept her off record during this period (1943-44). When lifelong friend Billy Eckstine broke away to form his own orchestra, Vaughan joined him, making her recording debut.

She loved being with Eckstine's orchestra, where she became influenced by a couple of his sidemen, Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie, both of whom had also been with Hines during her stint. Vaughan was one of the first singers to fully incorporate bop phrasing in her singing, and to have the vocal chops to pull it off on the level of a Parker and Gillespie.


Sarah Vaughan
Hal Mooney, conductor

Sarah Vaughan Sarah Vaughan Sings George Gershwin Track Listing:


1. Isn't It A Pity?
2. Of Thee I Sing
3. I'll Build A Stairway To Paradise
4. Someone to Watch Over Me
5. Bidin' My Time
6. The Man I Love
7. How Long Has This Been Going On?
8. My One and Only (What Am I Gonna Do?)
9. Lorelei
10. I've Got A Crush On You
11. Summertime


1. Aren't You Kinda Glad We Did?
2. They All Laughed
3. Looking For A Boy
4. He Loves and She Loves
5. My Man's Gone Now
6. I Won't Say I Will But I Won't Say I Won't
7. A Foggy Day
8. Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
9. Things Are Looking Up
10. Do It Again
11. Love Walked In

We Also Recommend