Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Sigur Ros - Hvarf Heim Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Sigur Ros - Hvarf Heim Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

XL Records

  • $ 2298

Sigur Ros Hvarf Heim Vinyl 2LP

Hvarf / Heim is comprised of two EPs. The title of the first, Hvarf, translates appropriately as "disappeared" as its five tracks are new studio recordings of lost songs from various points in Sigur Rós' history. The first three, "Salka," "Hljomalind" and "I Gaer" were never released either because they were not recorded, or because they were recorded and then not included on a finished album.

The fourth and fifth songs, "Von" and perennial live favorite "Hafsol" are radical and complete reimaginings of songs from the band's first album, the original versions of which were recorded by the band's Jonsi Birgisson and Georg Holm with drummer Agust Gunnarsson prior to Kjartan Sveinsson and Orri Dyrason joining the band.

An alternative translation of Hvarf is "Haven" which ties into the title of the second EP, Heim, or "Home." Heim's six tracks are live acoustic versions of songs from all four Sigur Rós studio albums recorded in Iceland during the band's summer 2006 tour and early this spring. The unplugged scenario had been pretty much imposed on the band, there being no power at some of the locations.

"Samskeyti," "Vaka," "Agaetis Byrjun" (never performed live before last summer) and "Heysatan" were played acoustically on the road during their summer tour, with the remaining "Staralfur" and "Von" being first interpreted for a protest concert against a planned road development.

Sigur Ros Hvarf / Heim Track Listing:

LP1 - Hvarf

1. Salka
2. Hljómalind
3. Í Gær
4. Von
5. Hafsól

LP2 - Heim

1. Samskeyti (Live)
2. Starálfur (Live)
3. Vaka (Live)
4. Ágætis Byrjun (Live)
5. Heysátan (Live)
6. Von (Live)

We Also Recommend