We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Simon Bonney - Past, Present, Future Vinyl LP - direct audio

Simon Bonney - Past, Present, Future Vinyl LP

Mute Records

  • $ 2798

Simon Bonney Past, Present, Future Vinyl LP

Simon Bonney was a 31-year-old native Australian when he transitioned from Crime and the City Solution, his post-punk band with Rowland S. Howard and Mick Harvey of the Birthday Party, known for their haunting guitars and lyrics steeped in "post-blues anomie and meta-blues mythology. At the time he had already traveled from the rural landscape of his childhood to the dankest corners of Berlin's avant-garde underground and then to a new life in the American West," noted the New York Times in 1993. "During these restless years, his music has shifted from brutal, metallic noise to pastoral song craft."

Collaborations with German film director Wim Wenders, including an on-camera feature in Wings of Desire, also affected Bonney's songwriting, and soon he was building a musical bridge between his Australian upbringing and his growing interest in Americana. Bonney's turn towards a more roots-oriented sound can be heard on his last two albums, Forever (1992) and Everyman (1994), which blended elements of folk and Americana with the brooding sound of the post-punk ballad. Forever lead the way, both expansive and sultry, like night in unlit territory. J. D. Foster, an American guitarist who has worked with Dwight Yoakam and Lucinda Williams, helped Bonney chart his course.

Fast forward 25 years...Simon Bonney returns with Past, Present, Future which contains select cuts from Everyman and Forever, along with six new songs. This will be followed by a new studio album to be recorded in the spring of 2019. "Simon Bonney is to me one of the greatest artists of our time," proclaims Mark Lanegan. "His lyrics, melodies, phrasing and songs are beautiful, mysterious, powerful and lovely. His records have been a constant inspiration and companion to me for years and years. One of my favorite singers ever. Thank god he's back."

Simon Bonney Past, Present, Future Track Listing:

1. Ravenswood
2. Don't Walk Away From Love
3. There Can Only Be One
4. Where Trouble Is Easier To Find
5. A Sweet Kind Of Pain
6. Everyman
7. Duchess
8. Forever
9. Eyes Of Blue

We Also Recommend