Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
SJOB Movement - Friendship Train Vinyl LP - direct audio

SJOB Movement - Friendship Train Vinyl LP

Cultures Of Souls

  • $ 1998

SJOB Movement Friendship Train Vinyl LP

1977's Friendship Train was the second LP by SJOB Movement and one which saw the group rise to new heights. It's a masterpiece of African music with it's fluid Afro beat grooves and spaced out Moog synthesizer sounds. Here is an excerpt from the liner notes written and researched by Uchenna:

"Prince Bola Agbana might hardly be the most immediately recognizable name in the constellation of Nigerian music stars, but for a significant portion of the last half-century he labored in the shadows, dutifully serving as one of the key movers in its development: An in-demand session musician. An early and respected exponent of funk. A catalyst in the retrofit of juju into a modern pop genre. Most of all, though, he is recognized as the founder, leader, drummer and principal vocalist of the SJOB Movement.

"SJOB: Sam, Johnnie, Ottah, Bola. For a moment in the mid-1970s, they were le dernier cri in modern Nigerian music, representing the next step in the evolution of Afro rhythms, and a new paradigm for the band economy. Their first album, 1976's A Move in the Right Direction, was a minor sensation and was swiftly followed by Friendship Train in 1977. Then it appeared that the movement stopped moving, and SJOB disappeared from the scene."

SJOB Movement Friendship Train Track Listing:

1. Friendship Train
2. Love Affair
3. What Could It Be
4. Odiaria
5. Let's Do It
6. Halleluyah!!

We Also Recommend