We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Slothrust - The Pact Vinyl LP

Slothrust - The Pact Vinyl LP

Dangerbird Records

  • $ 1998

Slothrust The Pact Vinyl LP

Slothrust is principal songwriter, guitar player and unrepentant aesthete Leah Wellbaum, with drummer Will Gorin and bassist Kyle Bann. On their fourth full-length album The Pact, Slothrust constructs a luscious, ethereal cosmos perforated with wormy portals and magic wardrobes, demonstrating more clearly than ever the band's deft shaping of contrasting sonic elements to forge a muscular sound that's uniquely their own. Bizarre and mundane, tender and confident. The awkward duality of the forever outsider, rightly reclaimed as power. This is The Pact.

Produced and engineered by Billy Bush in Los Angeles, Slothrust's new LP is a confident journey across 12 songs that oscillate between a quietly reflective tenderness and a slick, sleek confidence; balancing playful innocence with ballsy swagger. Bush brought a rugged-lush sensibility to the proceedings, assuredly guiding the band into new territory.

Opener and lead single "Double Down," commands without cawing for attention - A lurching rock song with a subversive pop hook, ripped with screeching distortion that gives way to the chorus, an irreverent, emphatically cool takedown of all doubters. "Peach" showcases Wellbaum's penchant for quirky wordplay while cascading riffs illustrate her prodigious power and inventive nuance on guitar. "Walk Away" introduces a slinking R&B groove and an unexpectedly sultry vocal turn by Wellbaum, whose delivery shimmers as it peaks and drops, climaxing in a pulsing, frayed guitar solo full of tension that embodies desire straining against the edges of itself.

"For Robin" opens with a jaunty bass line overlaid with a '80s hotel-wedding saxophone riff, the perfect accompaniment to a lyrical narrative that takes the form of direct address to deceased actor Robin Williams. "The Haunting" is a sumptuous odyssey through the realm somewhere between sleeping and waking that is perhaps most indicative of The Pact's expanded sonic palette.

A twangy, acoustic strum leads the way before the bass tumbles in to hug a simple, tangy melody, conjuring a sense of underwater vertigo not dissimilar from the band's influences like Smashing Pumpkins or the reflective wail of The Pixies. "Fever Doggs," "a song that feels like a photograph of an old house made of dark rotting wood," Wellbaum acknowledges, tips its hat to trailblazers like PJ Harvey as it spins toward the edge in shifting time signatures that dissolve into a furiously controlled riot.

Slothrust The Pact Track Listing:

1. Double Down
2. Peach
3. Planetarium
4. Walk Away
5. Birthday Cake
6. For Robin
7. The Haunting
8. New Red Pants
9. Fever Doggs
10. On My Mind
11. Some Kind of Cowgirl
12. Travel Bug

We Also Recommend