Cart 0
Small Faces - From The Beginning on 180g Mono LP - direct audio

Small Faces - From The Beginning on 180g Mono LP

Mercury Records

  • $ 2499

Small Faces From The Beginning on 180g Mono LP

Carefully Remastered from the Original Analogue Sources Under the Supervision of Last Remaining Member, Drummer Kenney Jones

Between spring 1965, when they began rehearsing at the Ruskin Arms in East London's Manor Park, and June 1967, with their farewell Decca release, the Small Faces were emblematic of a fast-moving youth culture. Mod-ish street style peacocks and R&B/soul obsessives to a man, they were young, hip and hyper.

From the Beginning was the (unofficial) retrospective album released in June 1967. It reached No. 17 on the UK Album Chart. It is somewhat notorious for being a record put together by the band’s former manager Don Arden after his charges had dispensed with his services and signed with Andrew Loog Oldham’s Immediate label. It’s a mix of A-sides, first album outtakes and works-in-progress for a second LP and contains an inventive cover of Del Shannon's classic "Runaway" as well their biggest hit, "All or Nothing."

The latter was the highlight of the Small Faces live set, the centerpiece of From The Beginning and, reckoned Steve Marriott, one of two key Swinging London anthems (the other, he said, was The Who’s "My Generation"). Built on chord changes that would have been second nature to the Stax house band, the song brought Memphis to Pimlico and summoned a career-best performance from Marriott. It had power, soul and in September 1966 it shared the No. 1 spot with The Beatles’ "Yellow Submarine."

Small Faces From The Beginning Track Listing:

1. Runaway
2. My Mind's Eye
3. Yesterday, Today And Tomorrow
4. That Man
5. My Way Of Giving
6. Hey Girl
7. (Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me
8. Take This Hurt Off Me
9. All Or Nothing
10. Baby Don't You Do It
11. Plum Nellie
12. Sha La La La Lee
13. You've Really Got A Hold On Me
14. What'Cha Gonna Do About It


We Also Recommend