Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Smashing Pumpkins - The Aeroplane Flies High on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set (Awaiting Repress) - direct audio

Smashing Pumpkins - The Aeroplane Flies High on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set (Awaiting Repress)

Virgin Records

  • $ 19998

Smashing Pumpkins The Aeroplane Flies High on Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set

New 180g 5LP Edition of the Band's Platinum-Selling 1996 Box Set featuring the Original 33 Tracks Remastered by Bob Ludwig for the First Time

As part of the continuing series of reissues of the Smashing Pumpkins' acclaimed catalog via Virgin/UMe, the iconic alternative band is set to release a fully remastered 5LP version of their platinum-selling 1996 box set The Aeroplane Flies High.

The original The Aeroplane Flies High release was a five-disc box set that featured expanded versions of singles from their acclaimed 1995 double album Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness, including “Bullet With Butterfly Wings,” “1979,” “Zero” “Tonight” and “Thirty-Three.” Mellon Collie achieved Diamond certification by the RIAA for sales of 10,000,000 discs and digital equivalent per disc (5 million copies of the double album). This new limited edition box set of The Aeroplane Flies High features the original 33 track version remastered by Bob Ludwig for the first time and pressed across five 180g LPs.

Notes Billy Corgan: “What I like about The Aeroplane Flies High is that it’s almost the existential backwater of the Mellon Collie album. Listening to the music gathered here is a little bit like seeing what goes on behind the walls of Disneyland. I’ve always been fascinated with places that are very well constructed, and finding out what’s really going on just over the fence.

You look over that gate and notice that things on the other side are not well painted - or maybe you spot that guy dressed as some character sneaking a smoke on his break. At least for me, the behind the scenes feel heard on The Aeroplane Flies High represents something revealing not found on the main album. In retrospect, it’s a nice document of how we arrived at the apex of Mellon Collie - and also what standing on that apex did to us personally.”

David Wild writes, “The Aeroplane Flies High is a trip, and perhaps fittingly for Billy Corgan, it was an exciting, exhausting and scary one that reveals a lot about the Smashing Pumpkins at this point in their musical journey.”

The Aeroplane Flies High follows 2011’s acclaimed reissues of the band’s groundbreaking first two albums, Gish (1991) and Siamese Dream (1993), as well as 2012’s Pisces Iscariot (1994), the band’s third album, as well as their fourth album, Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness (1995). The Smashing Pumpkins have created one of the most acclaimed bodies of work in musical history, selling over 30 million albums. The global catalog reissue campaign will last through 2013; it will encompass all the band’s albums and B-sides from 1991-2000, with other release dates to be announced. The pivotal group’s many hits defined the alternative music era and continue to resonate on modern rock radio, influencing a whole new generation.

Smashing Pumpkins The Aeroplane Flies High Track Listing:


1. Bullet With Butterfly Wings
2. ...Said Sadly
3. You're All I've Got Tonight
4. Clones (We're All)
5. A Night Like This
6. Destination Unknown
7. Dreaming


1. 1979
2. Ugly
3. The Boy
4. Cherry
5. Believe
6. Set The Ray To Jerry


1. Zero
2. God
3. Mouths Of Babes
4. Tribute To Johnny
5. Marquis In Spades
6. Pennies
7. Pastichio Medley (Early Fade Version)


1. Tonight, Tonight
2. Meladori Magpie
3. Rotten Apples
4. Jupiter's Lament
5. Medellia Of The Gray Skies
6. Blank
7. Tonite Reprise


1. Thirty-Three
2. The Last Song
3. The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)
4. Transformer
5. The Bells
6. My Blue Heaven

We Also Recommend