Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Sonny Rollins - Freedom Suite Vinyl LP - direct audio

Sonny Rollins - Freedom Suite Vinyl LP

Fantasy Records

  • $ 1998

Sonny Rollins Freedom Suite Vinyl LP

When it was first heard in the late-50s, "The Freedom Suite" created a considerable stir. It remains a most impressive work: more than 19 minutes of the varied, inventive, impassioned development of a theme by a single horn supported only by bass and drums. It is of course an essential element that the horn is one of the greatest of all tenor saxes, and the supporting duo scarcely less top-ranked.

The remaining tracks display early examples of a less sensational but highly effective weapon in the Sonny Rollins arsenal: his brilliant reshaping of fairly unlikely pop material, including in this case a pair of waltzes.


Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone)
Oscar Pettiford (bass)
Max Roach (drums)

Sonny Rollins Freedom Suite Track Listing:

1. The Freedom Suite
2. Someday I'll Find You
3. Will You Still Be Mine?
4. Till There Was You
5. Shadow Waltz

We Also Recommend