We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Sonny Rollins - The Sound Of Sonny on Vinyl LP - direct audio

Sonny Rollins - The Sound Of Sonny on Vinyl LP

Fantasy Records

  • $ 2198

Sonny Rollins The Sound Of Sonny on Vinyl LP

Sonny Rollins was only 26 years old when he recorded this, his first Riverside album in 1957, but he was an eight-year veteran of the jazz big leagues. He had worked with Thelonious Monk, Miles Davis and the Clifford Brown-Max Roach Group, among others. His style, personal and eccentric but deeply rooted in the jazz tradition and in American popular song, made him the most talked-about young tenor saxophonist in the mid-1950s.

Like all great jazz improvisers, he communicated through his instrument in a way that made listeners feel he was speaking to them. The stories he told were delivered with energy, swing and wry good humor. He gave the layman a frame of reference by using familiar material like the standard songs here for explorations full of excitement and adventure. Supported by a blue-ribbon rhythm section featuring Sonny Clark (piano), Roy Haynes (drums), and bassists Percy Heath and Paul Chambers - this is young Sonny Rollins at his best.

"As a contract artist with Prestige Records between 1951 and 1956, and through his work on various labels from 1957 until the beginning of an extended sabbatical two years later, Rollins laid the foundation for his status as a master improviser, saxophonist and composer; an influence far beyond his chosen instrument and idiom; and a living icon of affirmative creativity. " - Bob Blumenthal, Saxophone Colossus: A Portrait of Sonny Rollins

Sonny Rollins The Sound Of Sonny Track Listing:

1. The Last Time I Saw Paris
2. Just in Time
3. Toot, Toot, Tootsie, Goodbye
4. What Is There to Say?
5. Dearly Beloved
6. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
7. Cutie
8. It Could Happen to You
9. Mangos
10. Funky Hotel Blues

We Also Recommend