We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Sparks - 12-Inch Mixes Colored 180g Import Vinyl 12" 2LP - direct audio

Sparks - 12-Inch Mixes Colored 180g Import Vinyl 12" 2LP

Repertoire Records

  • $ 3498

Sparks 12-Inch Mixes Colored 180g Import Vinyl 12" 2LP

Sparks is an American pop and rock band formed in Los Angeles in 1972 by brothers Ron (keyboards) and Russell Mael (vocals). The duo formed in 1968 under the name Halfnelson. Known for their quirky approach to songwriting, Sparks' music is often accompanied by intelligent, sophisticated, and acerbic lyrics, and an idiosyncratic, theatrical stage presence, typified in the contrast between Russell's animated, hyperactive frontman antics and Ron's deadpan scowling. They are also noted for Russell Mael's distinctive wide-ranging voice and Ron Mael's intricate and rhythmic keyboard playing style.

While achieving chart success in various countries around the world including the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy, and the United States, they have enjoyed a cult following since their first releases.

During the late 1970s, when in collaboration with Giorgio Moroder (and Telex subsequently), Sparks reinvented themselves as a new wave/synth-pop band, and abandoned the traditional rock band line-up. Their frequently changing styles and visual presentations have kept the band at the forefront of modern, artful pop music.

This collection of 12-inch versions of Sparks work between 1979 and 1984 pays homage to the extended mixes that were often created in the studio for use in discos. They found success in Europe in 1979 working with Italian-born producer Giorgio Moroder who, with Pete Bellotte, had turned US singer Donna Summer into a megastar with his hypnotic Eurodisco instrumental style.

Sparks 12-Inch Mixes Track Listing:


1. Tryouts for the Human Race - 12" a Side (Usa) Extended Version
2. Beat the Clock - 12" a Side (UK) Extended Version
3. Young Girls - 12" a Side (UK) Disco Version
4. I Predict - 12" a Side (France) Extended Version
5. Modesty Plays - 12" a Side (France) Extended Version
6. Cool Places Feat. Jane Wiedlin - 12" a Side (France) Extended Version


1. All You Ever Think About Is Sex - 12" a Side (Usa) Club Version
2. Dance Godammit - 12" B Side (Usa) Club Version
3. Pretending to Be Drunk - 12" a Side (Usa) Extended Version
4. Kiss Me Quick - 12" B Side (Usa) Extended Version
5. Progress - 12" A1 (Usa) Vocal / Extended Club Mix
6. Sparks in the Dark - 12" A2 (Usa) Instrumental /Extended Club Mix
7. With All My Might - 12" B Side (Usa) Vocal / Extended Club Mix

We Also Recommend