We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Stef Chura - Messes Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) - direct audio

Stef Chura - Messes Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock)

Saddle Creek Records

  • $ 1998

Stef Chura Messes Vinyl LP

Stef Chura's debut studio album, Messes, is born of her years of experience playing around the Michigan underground, setting up DIY shows in the area, and moving around the state – nearly 20 times. "Right when it starts to feel like home/It's time to go," she sings literally on its opening cut, "Slow Motion," a twisty, dim-lit guitar pop song where she curls and stretches every word. There are worlds of emotion in the ways Chura pronounces phrases with twang and grit, alternatingly full of despair, playfulness, and abandon.

Chura calls her music "emotional collage," eschewing start-to-finish storylines in favor of writing intuitively about feelings, drawing from experiences and references related to a certain sentiment.

She recorded the entire album with Fred Thomas (Saturday Looks Good To Me) throughout 2015. Thomas plays bass on most of the record, and a bit of guitar and drums. Drummer Ryan Clancy of Jamaican Queens and Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. adds the bulk of the drums. Through intricate guitar work and warm, textured production, Messes finds her trying to make sense of life's ups and downs.

"It's about emotional mess, not physical mess," Chura says. "The title track is about knowing that you are going to do something the wrong way, but you're doing it anyway because you want that experience. I've had to do a lot of things the wrong way in order to figure out how to live my life."

Stef Chura Messes Track Listing:

1. Slow Motion
2. You
3. Thin
4. Human Being
5. Faded Heart
6. Spotted Gold
7. Time To Go
8. Messes
9. On and Off For You
10. Becoming Shadows
11. Speeding Ticket

We Also Recommend