We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0

Steve Miller Band - Brave New World Colored 180g Vinyl LP

Capital Records

  • $ 2998

Steve Miller Band Brave New World Colored 180g Vinyl LP

The career of Steve Miller and the various incarnations of his band runs parallel with the development of classic American rock music. Texan born Miller migrated to California to play hard electric blues with Barry Goldberg before catching the prevailing psychedelic trend in Los Angeles and San Francisco. The Steve Miller Band were pretty much an instant success, partly because they were tighter and more proficient than most of the jam rambling competition. Miller's first albums are masterpieces of the emergent acid rock movement, but they also rely on a cool bedrock of blues structure and some wildly innovative electronic treatments.

As debuts go Children of the Future was immaculate but follow-up Sailor may be even better. Sticking with producer Glyn Johns but moving to Burbank to record Miller brought in a battery of synth effects on "Song for Our Ancestors" and also introduces one of his familiar alter egos in the shape of the irresistible "Gangster of Love." The album is notable for additional standouts like "Living in the USA," which would eventually become a hit in its own right and Boz Scaggs' rock soul brother vocals on "Overdrive" and "Dime-a-Dance Romance."

2018 marks 50 years since the Steve Miller Band's first two Capitol Records albums were released in 1968, and to commemorate the golden anniversary Miller and Capitol/UMe present remastered reissues of the legendary group's first nine studio albums.

Steve Miller Band Sailor Track Listing:

1. Song For Our Ancestors
2. Dear Mary
3. My Friend
4. Living In The U.S.A.
5. Quicksilver Girl
6. Lucky Man
7. Gangster of Love
8. You're So Fine
9. Overdrive
10. Dime-A-Dance Romance

We Also Recommend