We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0

Steve Miller Band - Number 5 Colored 180g Vinyl LP

Capital Records

  • $ 2998

Steve Miller Band Number 5 Colored 180g Vinyl LP

The career of Steve Miller and the various incarnations of his band runs parallel with the development of classic American rock music. Texan born Miller migrated to California to play hard electric blues with Barry Goldberg before catching the prevailing psychedelic trend in Los Angeles and San Francisco. The Steve Miller Band were pretty much an instant success, partly because they were tighter and more proficient than most of the jam rambling competition. Miller's first albums are masterpieces of the emergent acid rock movement, but they also rely on a cool bedrock of blues structure and some wildly innovative electronic treatments.

As debuts go Children of the Future was immaculate but follow-up Sailor may be even better. The 1969 albums Brave New World and Your Saving Grace did the trick again while 1970's Number 5 took a side trip to Nashville to team the band with country luminaries Charlie McCoy, Buddy Spicher and Bobby Thompson. It was the Steve Miller Band's first album sans producer Glyn Johns and marked the end of an era for the group as lineup changes and a sonic overhaul would lead the band to multi-platinum glory in a few years time.

2018 marks 50 years since the Steve Miller Band's first two Capitol Records albums were released in 1968, and to commemorate the golden anniversary Miller and Capitol/UMe present remastered reissues of the legendary group's first nine studio albums.

Steve Miller Band Number 5 Track Listing:

1. Good Morning
2. I Love You
3. Going To the Country
4. Hot Chili
5. Tokin's
6. Going To Mexico
7. Steve Miller's Midnight Tango
8. Industrial Military Complex Hex
9. Jackson-Kent Blues
10. Never Kill Another Man

We Also Recommend