Cart 0
Stevie Wonder - Music of My Mind on Numbered Limited Edition LP from Mobile Fidelity Silver Label - direct audio

Stevie Wonder - Music of My Mind on Numbered Limited Edition LP from Mobile Fidelity Silver Label

Mobile Fidelity

  • $ 2998

Stevie Wonder Music of My Mind on Numbered Limited Edition LP from Mobile Fidelity Silver Label

The First of Wonder’s Five Consecutive “Classic Period” Albums

1972 Masterpiece Signaled New Direction for Motown, Includes Incredible Synthesizer Textures

Mastered on Mobile Fidelity’s World-Renowned Mastering System and Pressed at RTI: This Pressing Bests All Prior Analog and Digital Editions

Talking Book, Hotter Than July, and Fulfillingness' First Finale Also Available on LP from Mobile Fidelity Silver Label

Ranked #284 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, and the beginning of the legend’s unsurpassed “classic period,” Stevie Wonder’s Music of My Mind remains a touchstone of American R&B. The record’s liner notes aptly sum up its genius: “The sounds themselves come from inside his mind/The man his own instrument. The instrument is an orchestra.”

Indeed, save for segments on two songs, Wonder played all of the instruments himself, demonstrating his newfound freedom of artistic control and upping the ante in terms of composition, performance, and execution. He draws from a diverse toolbox—warm drums, vibrant bongos, breezy harmonicas, Fender Rhodes organs, tonally resonant pianos—and of course, lays on his trademark, buttery smooth vocals. Yet Music of My Mind also features the first extensive use of synthesizers in black music. Wonder reveals the magic that’s contained within Moog and Arp models, conscientious of the benefits and careful not to taint what’s otherwise among the most organic soul and funk ever created.

Stretching out, Wonder lets several songs go beyond the five-minute mark. He employs the services of guitarist Buzz Felden, trombonist Art Baron, and an uncredited choir of background voices, but mostly, this is his show. Affectingly tender, “I Love Every Little Thing About You” and “Seems So Long” melt with conviction; “Happier Than The Morning Sun” epitomizes the contagious mood and upbeat emotions present throughout, Wonder delighting in mixing traditional melodies with then-unheard-of arrangements into a seamless whole.

For the first time ever, Mobile Fidelity’s Silver Label pressing affords listeners the opportunity to hear Wonder’s aural orchestra with a clarity, range, and expressiveness never before made possible by prior pressings. Frequency-rich harmonics are one of the keys on this 1972 gem, and this edition’s ultra-clean surfaces and wide grooves unveil more music. Mastered on Mobile Fidelity’s world-renowned mastering system and pressed at RTI (America's best record plant), this numbered limited edition LP presents the first of Wonder’s five must-own records in truly extraordinary sound. 

"…This set also demonstrates Wonder's savvy usage of technology. He never lets it get in the way, so the album doesn't sound as synthetic as some of the Motown (and pending disco) albums of the era."
--Ken Kessler, Hi-Fi News, September 2012, 88% Sound Quality rating

Stevie Wonder Music of My Mind Track Listing:

1. "Love Having You Around" 7:24
2. "Superwoman (Where Were You When I Needed You)" 8:08
3. "I Love Every Little Thing About You" 3:56
4. "Sweet Little Girl" Wonder 4:59
5. "Happier Than the Morning Sun" 5:18
6. "Girl Blue" 3:36
7. "Seems So Long" 4:22
8. "Keep on Running" 6:40
9. "Evil" 3:34

We Also Recommend