Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Sting - The Last Ship Vinyl LP - direct audio

Sting - The Last Ship Vinyl LP

Universal Records

  • $ 1998

Sting The Last Ship Vinyl LP

Cherrytree/Interscope/A&M Records is pleased to present a new album of original material from 16-time Grammy winner Sting, entitled The Last Ship. The album features guest appearances by Jimmy Nail and Becky Unthank and was produced by Rob Mathes (Eric Clapton, Elton John, Lou Reed, Carly Simon) and engineered and mixed by Donal Hodgson. The 12-song set will be preceded by lead single "Practical Arrangement."

The Last Ship is inspired by Sting’s forthcoming play of the same name and explores the central themes of homecoming and self-discovery, drawing upon his memories of growing up in the shadow of the Swan Hunters Shipyard in Wallsend. His personal reminiscences illuminate universal truths – the complexity of relationships, the passage of time and the importance of family and community – to form an affecting, complex parable for our modern times.

The play, in which Sting has been creatively immersed for nearly three years, debuts on Broadway in 2014 and is a collaboration with Tony Award winners Joe Mantello (director; Wicked, Other Desert Cities), John Logan (writer; Red, Skyfall)) and Brian Yorkey (writer; Next to Normal). The Last Ship tells the story of the demise of the shipbuilding industry in 1980s Newcastle which had, for so long, shaped and overshadowed the city, its development, and its community.

Sting The Last Ship Track Listing:

1. The Last Ship
2. Dead Man's Boots
3. And Yet
4. August Winds
5. Language Of Birds
6. Practical Arrangement
7. The Night The Pugilist Learned How To Dance
8. Ballad Of The Great Eastern
9. What Have We Got? (featuring Jimmy Nail)
10. I Love Her But She Loves Someone Else
11. So To Speak (featuring Becky Unthank)
12. The Last Ship (Reprise)

We Also Recommend