We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Sunny and The Sunliners - Mr. Brown Eyed Soul Vinyl LP - direct audio

Sunny and The Sunliners - Mr. Brown Eyed Soul Vinyl LP

Big Crown Records

  • $ 2298

Sunny and The Sunliners Mr. Brown Eyed Soul Vinyl LP

This new Sunny And The Sunliners compilation on Brooklyn's acclaimed Big Crown label is a lovingly curated selection of songs from the years 1966 to 1972. All seventeen of the featured compositions were originally released on Sunny Ozuna's Key-Loc label, formed after his national star had been established, so he could have control of his own musical destiny.

As Akalepse explains about the Ozuna-approved tracklist, "We chose our own Sunny favorites and laid everything out so the LP would be a great listen, first and foremost. There are several cuts on here that I have played out and loved – as a DJ and record fanatic – for many, many years. ‘Mr. Brown Eyed Soul' is not necessarily a ‘Greatest Hits' compilation, although it obviously has a bunch of them on here. In the end, this is our take on the crème-de-la-creme of Sunny's English language soul tunes."

With Sunny hits – a mix of originals and some great covers thrown in – ranging from ballads like "My Dream," "I Only Have Eyes For You" and "Outside Looking In"; to mid-tempo soul groovers "Should I Take You Home," "Put Me In Jail" and "The One Who's Hurting Is You"; and the ultra funky "Get Down"; Mr. Brown Eyed Soul is an excellent celebration of Ozuna's amazing body of work, and a perfect introduction to Sunny for newcomers. The LP packaging also includes liner notes by Texas Music scholar and archivist Ramon Hernandez, and dozens of rare photos provided by Sunny himself.

Sunny and The Sunliners Mr. Brown Eyed Soul Track Listing:

1. Intro 1
2. Should I Take You Home?
3. Cross My Heart
4. The One Who's Hurting Is You
5. Smile Now, Cry Later
6. Our Day Will Come
7. Put Me In Jail
8. Forever
9. I Only Have Eyes For You
10. Intro 2
11. Get Down
12. Open Up Your Love Door
13. Give It Away
14. Rain Makes Me Blue
15. Outside Looking In
16. I Have No One
17. My Dream

We Also Recommend