Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Σtella - The Break Vinyl LP - direct audio

Σtella - The Break Vinyl LP

Arbutus Records

  • $ 1998

Σtella The Break Vinyl LP

Σtella was born beside the sea and raised by a Canadian nanny who waterskied topless. Following the releases of her two recent singles on Arbutus Records, ("Samba" and "The Race"), Σtella delivers The Break. The first of her three albums, which Σtella produced and recorded herself at her home studio, The Break brings together all the playfulness and spontaneity that characterizes her music: non-standard pop deviations whose shimmering feel-good surfaces are anchored by a powerful undertow of melancholy.

"Σtella's honey-rich vocals overlie a crisp, no-frills backing that has echoes of classic '60s pop" [said The Line of Best Fit]. "The fact that her range is on the lower end of the spectrum gives Σtella this regal quality to her music, similar to what Annie Lennox did for the Eurythmics" [said Earmilk]."Bold, streamlined pop" [said Paste Magazine]. "A soft wave of wistful nostalgia... majestic" [said Gorilla vs. Bear].

 Σtella The Break Track Listing:

1. Bellaria
2. The Race
3. Simon Says
4. Samba
5. Forest
6. Monster
7. The Break
8. I'm Alone
9. Numéro
10. The River
11. Cherry
12. Sleeping Separate
13. The World Is Big

We Also Recommend